map placeholder
Equator Touches

Islands straddle equator

Touches equator

Click on a country for details.

Equator Countries 2024

The equator of the Earth is an imaginary horizontal line that divides the planet in two distinct and equal sections. The section that lies above the equator is the Northern Hemisphere, while the section below the equator is the Southern Hemisphere. Countries that are located on the equator have the shortest sunrises and sunsets in the world. This is because the path of the sun is almost perpendicular to the horizon for the majority of the year. Most days in these nations also have a consistently equal length of daylight hours – that is, the time between sunrise to sunset.

These nations also experience hotter weather throughout the year. There are few changes in temperature throughout the year, although rainfall and humidity may vary. There are no distinct seasons in countries that lie along the equator. There are roughly 2,000 hours of sunshine and about 200 rainy days per year. Countries on the equator may see as much as 140 inches of rainfall each year. There are 11 countries through which the equator passes. Those nations are Brazil, Colombia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Gabon, Indonesia, Kenya, Republic of the Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, and Uganda.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Equator Touches
BrazilTouches equator
ColombiaTouches equator
DR CongoTouches equator
EcuadorTouches equator
GabonTouches equator
IndonesiaTouches equator
KenyaTouches equator
KiribatiIslands straddle equator
MaldivesIslands straddle equator
Republic of the CongoTouches equator
Sao Tome and PrincipeTouches equator
SomaliaTouches equator
UgandaTouches equator

How many countries are on the equator?

The equator passes through 11 separate countries.

Which countries are on the Equator?

The countries that the equator passes through are Brazil, Colombia, DR Congo, Ecuador, Gabon, Indonesia, Kenya, Republic of the Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia and Uganda.

Frequently Asked Questions