map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Latino Countries 2023

“Latino countries” is a term used to describe nations and dependencies located in Latin America. These nations are located in the Western Hemisphere and are located in North America, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. In these nations, Romance languages including Spanish and Portuguese are the most common languages. This does not include areas in the United States or Canada where these languages are predominant.

The total land area of these Latino countries is approximately 7.4 million square miles. The population, based on estimates from 2016, is 639,048,639.

As previously mentioned, most of these nations speak mainly Spanish, Portuguese, and French. The most common language is Spanish, which is spoken by about 60% of the total population. However, other languages may be spoken throughout this region, including Mayan languages, Dutch, Italian, German, Polish, Chinese, and Japanese, just to name a few.

The largest city in this region is Mexico City. This city has a population of over 23 million inhabitants. Other populous cities in Latin America include Lima, Rio de Janeiro, Bogota, Buenos Aires, and Sao Paulo.

Throughout Latin America, you’ll find multiple ethnic groups and races. This region is believed to be one of the most diverse in the world. Some ethnic groups that can be found in Latino countries include Mestizos, Castizos, Amerindians, blacks, Asians, and Mulattos. People that are at least part European make up about 80% of Latin America’s total population.

Most inhabitants of Latino countries are Christian, with about 90% of the total population having Christian beliefs. Roughly 70% of the population is Catholic.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

showing: 24 rows

Which countries are considered Latino?

All the countries that are located in Latin America are considered Latino. Those countries include Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Frequently Asked Questions