map placeholder
Hover overClick on a tile for details.

Mid-Atlantic States

The Mid-Atlantic states make up a region of the United States that is located between the South Atlantic region and New England.

The definition of the Mid-Atlantic region varies, but generally includes the following states: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. The total area of the Mid-Atlantic states stretches across over 191,308 square miles. Based on population estimates from 2008, the total population of the region is over 57 million, with a population dentary of 300 people per square mile.

The Mid-Atlantic region was once called “the typically American region.” This region has had a history of religious and ethnic diversity. The region is also one of the richest in the nation, with a total of 43 out of the nation’s top 100 counties with the highest median household incomes. The largest individual city in the Mid-Atlantic is New York City, which is home to over 8.6 million people and is the largest city in the U.S. There are several other major metropolitan areas found throughout the Mid-Atlantic, including Pittsburgh, Syracuse, Richmond, and Rochester.

Mid-Atlantic States


There are 8 Mid Atlantic States.

Mid-Atlantic States