map placeholder
Hover overClick on a tile for details.

Midwestern United States

The north-central region of the United States is also known as the Midwest. This region is also known as the Middle West or the American Midwest. There are a total of 12 states in this region. It is one of four census regions in the United States. Canada is located to the north of this region; the Northeastern U.S. is to its right, the Western U.S. is to its left, and the Southern U.S. is to its south.

There are 12 states that make up the Midwest: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

The Mississippi River, the Missouri River, and the Ohio River are located in parts of the Midwest. These states do not border any oceans. However, some are located in the Great Lakes region. The Midwest is divided into two divisions. The states of Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, and South Dakota are located in the West North Central Division. The states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin are located in the East North Central Division.

The Midwest has a population estimated at over 65 million. Illinois is the largest Midwest state and the sixth-largest U.S. state, home to over 12.7 million people. The most populous city in the Midwest is Chicago, IL, with a population of 2.679 million. There are also several other populated cities in the region, including:

  • Detroit, MI (Population: 664,139)
  • Indianapolis, IN (Population: 887,232)
  • Columbus, OH (Population: 913,921)
  • Omaha, NE (Population: 479,978)
  • Minneapolis, MN (439,012)
  • Wichita, KS (Population: 391,352)
  • St. Paul, MN (Population: 310,368)
  • Cincinnati, OH (Population: 307,266)
  • Kansas City, MO (Population: 501,957)

Midwestern United States


There are 13 Midwest States.

Midwestern United States