map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

14 Eyes Countries 2023

United States

The United States is one of the two founding members of the intelligence sharing alliance known as the 14 Eyes. The 14 Eyes started in the 1950s with the United States and the United Kingdom. The United States and the United Kingdom are still considered to be the leaders of the alliance. The United States is considered one of the Five Eyes members, which is a more exclusive sub-group of the 14 Eyes.

The United Kingdom

The United Kingdom is one of the founding members of the 14 Eyes. It is considered to be the second-most influential and productive member of the alliance, behind only the United States. The Mi6 intelligence agency, which is the UK's primary foreign intelligence agency, is one of the most active agencies of any country in the 14 Eyes alliance. The United Kingdom is also part of the Five Eyes sub-group.

New Zealand

New Zealand is another member of the 14 Eyes that is also a member of the Five Eyes. However, New Zealand's membership in the Five Eyes group has been controversial with its citizens since it became public knowledge. Even the New Zealand government seems to be considering leaving the Five Eyes, due in part to the country's increasingly close ties with China.


Australia is the fourth member of the Five Eyes, making it an integral part of the 14 Eyes. Similarly to its neighbor and close ally New Zealand, Australia's citizens have raised issues about the country's membership in the Five Eyes and 14 Eyes alliances. Unlike New Zealand, however, Australia shows no signs of backing out of these alliances.


Canada is the fifth and final member of the Five Eyes sub-group within the 14 Eyes alliance. Canada's intelligence agencies are known for having extremely close ties with the intelligence agencies of both the United States and the United Kingdom. Judges in Canada have condemned the country's intelligence agencies for having the intelligence agencies of other Five Eyes members spy on Canadian citizens.

Other 14 Eyes Countries

Denmark, France, the Netherlands, and Norway are all part of the 14 Eyes, and a sub-group called the Nine Eyes, which is not as widely recognized as the four eyes. Additionally, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Spain, and Sweden are the five remainig countries than comprise the 14 Eyes. It is rumored that Germany wants to join the Five Eyes.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Which countries are in the 14 Eyes agreement?

The United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Norway, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Sweden, and Spain are part of the 14 Eyes Agreement.

Frequently Asked Questions