map placeholder



Click on a country for details.

Countries That Use the Euro 2024

The euro is the main unit of currency used by most countries in the European Union. As of January 2023, a total of 20 full members of the European Union have designated the euro as their primary currency, and six additional members are in the process of completing the prerequisites so they can do the same. In addition, a handful of non-EU countries and several territories with ties to EU countries (particularly France) have also adopted the euro.

The euro was officially named in 1995, and it was introduced as an accounting currency in 1999. In 2002, physical banknotes and coins issued in euros entered circulation, and a few months later, it replaced the former currencies of many EU member nations.

EU member countries that use the euro*:

Austria ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡นBelgium ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ชCroatia ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ทCyprus ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พEstonia ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ชFinland ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎFrance ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ทGermany ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ชGreece ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ทIreland ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ชItaly ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡นLatvia ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ปLithuania ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡นLuxembourg ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡บMalta ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡นNetherlands ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑPortugal ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡นSlovakia ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐSlovenia ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎSpain ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ

EU member countries in the process of adopting the euro:

Non-EU countries that use the euro:

Territories that use the euro**:

French Guiana ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ซGuadeloupe ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ตMartinique ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ถMayotte ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡นReunion ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ชSaint Barthelemy ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฑSaint Martin ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ซSaint Pierre and Miquelon ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฒ

Euro denominations and international acceptance

The euro has the highest total value of notes and coins in circulation out of all of the world's currencies. It is the second-largest and second-most-traded currency globally, falling behind only the United States dollar. Like the U.S. dollar, each euro is made up of 100 centsโ€”however, euros and euro cents have different monetary values than do U.S. dollars and cents.

The European Central Bank issues the euro, which is available as banknotes and coins. Denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50, and 100 euro are frequently used. Less frequently used are 200 and 500 euro banknotes. Coins that are commonly used in nations that use the euro are 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, 1 euro, and 2 euro.

All 20 EU members that use the euro belong to the eurozone, an international economic alliance that also includes a few countries, such as Vatican City and Andorra, that are not EU members, but which have nonetheless adopted the euro as their official currency. The eurozone had a collective population of approximately 341 million people as of January 2022. A number of non-eurozone countries have also adopted the euro or made plans to do so.

Countries need not consider the euro their official currency in order to honor it and use it. For example, Zimbabwe accepts the euro along with several additional currencies. Moreover, the Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA), a banking agreement that simplifies bank transfers that use the euro, has been joined by approximately 50 countries and territories, including all 27 members of the European Union, but also the four nations of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland), as well as the United Kingdom.

Countries marked "pending" have committed to installing the euro as their official currency, but had not yet completed the process (which takes years) as of February 2024.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

PolandpendingCountry - EU member
RomaniapendingCountry - EU member
SwedenpendingCountry - EU member
Czech RepublicpendingCountry - EU member
HungarypendingCountry - EU member
BulgariapendingCountry - EU member
GermanycurrentCountry - EU member
FrancecurrentCountry - EU member
ItalycurrentCountry - EU member
SpaincurrentCountry - EU member
NetherlandscurrentCountry - EU member
BelgiumcurrentCountry - EU member
GreececurrentCountry - EU member
PortugalcurrentCountry - EU member
AustriacurrentCountry - EU member
SlovakiacurrentCountry - EU member
FinlandcurrentCountry - EU member
IrelandcurrentCountry - EU member
CroatiacurrentCountry - EU member
LithuaniacurrentCountry - EU member
SloveniacurrentCountry - EU member
LatviacurrentCountry - EU member
EstoniacurrentCountry - EU member
CypruscurrentCountry - EU member
ReunioncurrentTerritory (France)
LuxembourgcurrentCountry - EU member
MontenegrocurrentCountry - non-EU
MaltacurrentCountry - EU member
GuadeloupecurrentTerritory (France)
MartiniquecurrentTerritory (France)
MayottecurrentTerritory (France)
French GuianacurrentTerritory (France)
AndorracurrentCountry - non-EU
MonacocurrentCountry - non-EU
San MarinocurrentCountry - non-EU
Saint MartincurrentTerritory (France)
Saint BarthelemycurrentTerritory (France)
Saint Pierre and MiqueloncurrentTerritory (France)
Vatican CitycurrentCountry - non-EU
showing: 39 rows

How many countries use the Euro?

Nineteen countries in the world use the Euro, including most members of the European Union (EU).

Which countries use Euros?

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain use the Euro.

Frequently Asked Questions