map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

FIFA World Cup Host Countries 2024

The FIFA World Cup is an international football/soccer tournament and one of the biggest sporting events in the world. Members of the Federation Internationale de Football Association [FIFA] compete every four years for the title of World Cup Champion. The first FIFA World Cup championship was held in 1930 and follow-up tournaments have been held every four years since, with the exceptions of 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. The FIFA World Cup is widely considered the most-watched sports event on the planet thanks to record-breaking viewership numbers including more than 3.5 billion viewers—roughly half the world's population—during the 2018 finals tournament.

Recent World Cup Host Countries and Winners

World Cup YearHost Country/CountriesWinner
2026United States, Canada, MexicoTBD
2030Morocco, Portugal, Spain (combined main hosts)TBD
Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay (cententary hosts)

The 2030 FIFA World Cup

2030 marks the 100th anniversary of the first FIFA World Cup, which was hosted by Uruguay (which also won the event) in 1930. The sole bid selected by FIFA to host the 2030 World Cup is a combined bid by three countries: Morocco, Portugal, and Spain. Barring unforeseen complications, these three nations will host the 2030 World Cup.

In addition, FIFA has announced that Uruguay will host a "centenary celebration" commemorating that initial FIFA World Cup and Uruguay, Paraguay, and Argentina will each host one match of the 2030 FIFA World Cup. According to FIFA, the matches will honor Uruguay's role as the host and winner of the 1930 World Cup, Argentina's role as finalist and runner-up of the 1920 World Cup, and Paraguay's role as the home of CONMEBOL, the first and only confederation in existence at the time of the 1930 World Cup.

Why FIFA has more members than the United Nations or the Olympics

FIFA's 211-member roster includes more nations than that of the United Nations (193 countries + two observer states as of 2021) or the International Olympic Committee (206 countries as of 2021). This is due to the fact that FIFA's definition of nationhood is slightly more flexible than that of other organizations.

For example, the United Nations treats the U.K. as a single country, but FIFA divides it into four "national" teams: Scotland, England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Similarly, territories such as Puerto Rico and Gibraltar may be be considered dependent territories rather than sovereign countries by the United Nations, but they are full members of FIFA. Any FIFA member is allowed to apply to host the FIFA World Cup, though smaller or less developed countries may find the criteria quite challenging to meet.

Qualifying for FIFA World Cup

Qualifying for the FIFA World Cup finals tournament is a significant accomplishment in and of itself thanks to the sheer size of the competition. The initial field for the 2022 FIFA World Cup included 211 teams—one for each member country—which will be narrowed down to 32 over three years' worth of qualifying matches (which started in June 2019) by the time the final tournament begins. The 2022 tournament, however, will be the last one to include 32 finalists, as FIFA has announced the finals will expand to include 48 teams in time for the 2026 tournament.

Slot allocation for the 2026 FIFA World Cup:

FIFA World Cup host countries bid process

FIFA's process for choosing host countries has evolved considerably over time. Initially, the process of selecting a host country proved controversial because of the inefficiency of international travel. Few European teams made it to the inaugural FIFA World Cup in Uruguay (South America), and multiple South American teams withdrew when the next two events were held in Europe. To prevent any impression of favoritism, FIFA began to alternate between the Americas and Europe with each successive event. It continued this policy until 2002, when Japan and South Korea co-hosted Asia's first World Cup finals.

FIFA's selection process has evolved considerably from those early days (as has air travel), making for a much more balanced and trustworthy system. The process starts with each prospective host country submitting a bid to FIFA's Bid Evaluation Task Force many years in advance—for example, bids to host the 2026 World Cup were due by October 15, 2017. The BETF then prepares three reports:

  • Compliance Assessment — Examines the bid's compliance with FIFA bid requirements, hosting templates, and requirements for the competition.
  • Risk Assessment — Evaluates the bid's projected cost and revenue, as well as any possible human rights concerns that could arise from hosting the tournament in the candidate country.
  • Technical Evaluation Report — Dives into details of infrastructure and logistics, such as available stadiums, housing, and transportation, as well as additional financial concerns (costs, estimated broadcast and ticket revenues, etc.) not covered in the Risk Assessment.

These reports are presented to the FIFA Council, which narrows the bids into a shortlist of candidates, which are then voted upon by the entire FIFA congress, which includes representatives from all 211 FIFA member associations. Every step of the process is fully transparent and publicly available, from the initial reports to each member's final vote.

Every FIFA World Cup host country through 2026 (chronological):

  • 2030 Main: Morocco, Portugal, Spain (2nd time)
  • 2030 Centenary: Argentina (2nd time), Paraguay, Uruguay (2nd time)
  • 2026: Canada, United States (2nd time), Mexico (3rd time)
  • 2022: Qatar
  • 2018: Russia
  • 2014: Brazil
  • 2010: South Africa
  • 2006: Germany (2nd time)
  • 2002: Japan/South Korea
  • 1998: France (2nd time)
  • 1994: United States
  • 1990: Italy (2nd time)
  • 1986: Mexico
  • 1982: Spain
  • 1978: Argentina
  • 1974: West Germany
  • 1970: Mexico
  • 1966: England
  • 1962: Chile
  • 1958: Sweden
  • 1954: Switzerland
  • 1950: Brazil
  • 1946: — canceled (WWII) —
  • 1942: — canceled (WWII) —
  • 1938: France
  • 1934: Italy
  • 1930: Uruguay

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Years Hosted
Additional Details
Argentina1978, 2030
2030 centenary co-host
Brazil1950, 2014
France1938, 1998
Germany1974 (as West Germany), 2006
Italy1934, 1990
Mexico1970, 1986, 2026
2030 co-host
2030 centenary co-host
2030 co-host
South Africa2010
South Korea2002
Spain1982, 2030
2030 co-host
United States1994, 2026
Uruguay1930, 2030
2030 centenary main host

Which countries have hosted FIFA World Cup?

The countries that have hosted the FIFA World Cup are as follows: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States and Uruguay.

Which country will hold FIFA 2026?

The United States, Mexico, and Canada will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Which country will hold FIFA 2030?

Morocco, Portugal, and Spain will host the 2030 FIFA World Cup. In addition, Uruguay will host a 'centenary celebration' commemorating the 100-year anniversary of the first World Cup, which took place in Uruguay in 1930, and the trio of Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay will host three World Cup matches.

Frequently Asked Questions