map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Shilings Countries 2024

The shilling has a rich history, both as a historical coin and as a current monetary unit in various countries. Historically, the shilling was a currency unit in Australia, Austria, New Zealand, and Ireland, but it was phased out during the 1960s and 1970s. However, it remains in circulation in five East African countries.

In Kenya, the Kenyan shilling (KES) serves as the national currency. It ranks as the 25th most-used currency globally and is considered the most stable unit in East Africa, issued by the Central Bank of Kenya. The Somali shilling (SOS), introduced in 1921, is the official currency of Somalia, divided into 100 senti (cents) with banknotes ranging from five to 1,000 shillings.

Tanzania uses the Tanzanian shilling (TZS) as its official currency, issued by the Bank of Tanzania since 1966. Uganda's currency, the Ugandan shilling (UGX), has been in use since 1966. It underwent a revaluation in 1987, transitioning from the old to the new shilling at a rate of 100 to 1, and is available in both banknotes and coins.

The Somaliland shilling was introduced on October 18, 1994, replacing the Somali shilling at a rate of 100 to 1 due to the impact of the civil war and political unrest in Somalia.

In Australia, the shilling was first issued in 1910, valued at one-twentieth of a pound, and remained in use until 1990. Now considered historical coins, the most valuable is the 1915L Australian shilling, valued at $3,250 in almost uncirculated (aUNC) condition.

Austria's currency, the Austrian Schilling (German: Schilling), was in circulation from 1925 to 1938 and again from 1945 to 1999, remaining in use until 2002. In Ireland, the Irish shilling ceased to be the official currency on December 31, 1971, replaced by the Irish Five Pence. New Zealand used the New Zealand pound from 1840 until 1967. This transition of the shilling across different regions and times illustrates its historical significance and evolving role in global economies.

  • The unrecognized territory Somaliland also uses the shilling.
  • Decimalization/decimalisation is the process of converting to a monetary system based upon powers of 10. For example, before the UK decimalised in 1971, a pound = 20 shillings = 240 pence. After decimalisation, a pound = 100 new pence.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Current Use Status
Historical Use
AustraliaDiscontinued (decimalisation)1910 – 1966
AustriaDiscontinued (decimalisation)1925 – 2002
IrelandDiscontinued (decimalisation)1701 – 1993
KenyaIn use1968 – Present
MaltaDiscontinued (decimalisation)1920 – 1972
New ZealandDiscontinued (decimalisation)1933 – 1967
SomaliaIn use1921 – Present
TanzaniaIn use1966 – Present
UgandaIn use1966 – Present
United KingdomDiscontinued (decimalisation)1707 – 1971

Which countries use shillings?

Shillings are still used as a monetary unit in Kenya, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda.

Frequently Asked Questions