Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

There are 26 Eastern states: Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Eastern States

Eastern States

The Eastern United States – also known just as the East – is a region that is located on the eastern side of the nation. More specifically, this region is made up of the states that are east of the Mississippi River. The 26 states that make up the Eastern U.S. is home to over 58% of the nation’s total population. Per 2011 estimates, these states had a total population of nearly 180 million inhabitants. Washington, D.C., is also considered part of the Eastern United States, although it isn’t an official state.

The Eastern states can further be subdivided into specific regions. The Southern United States – or the South – is made up of the following states:

New England is made up of:

Mid-Atlantic States:

Finally, part of the Midwest region is also considered part of the Eastern U.S. Those states are:

The largest city in the Eastern U.S. is New York City, which has a population of over 8.6 million inhabitants. New York City is also the most populous city in the entire nation. Chicago, Illinois, is also a populous city in the East with a population of over 2.6 million. Philadelphia has a population of over 1.5 million and is the last city of the Eastern states with a population exceeding 1 million.

Eastern States