Map Options

Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

There are 9 Northeast states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Northeast States

Northeast States

The Northeastern States – or the Northeast – is a region of the United States located south of Canada, west of the Atlantic Ocean, east of the Midwest, and north of the southern United States. Several east coast states are Northeast states. Nine states make up the Northeast based on the definition of the region by the U.S. Census Bureau. The states are: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Washington D.C. is also considered part of the Northeast region.

These states are split into two divisions: the Northeast and the Mid-Atlantic. New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania are the Mid-Atlantic states, while the U.S. Census Bureau classifies Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont as New England.

Together, these states make up over 181,324 square miles and have a combined estimated population of 55,943,073. There are approximately 345.5 people per square mile in the Northeast, making this the most densely populated region in the U.S. The Northeast region is one of the most urban areas in the United States. It also leads the nation as the most economically developed and culturally diverse region.

Based on 2019 Census Bureau estimates, New York is the most populous in the Northeast with a population of over 19.45 million people. Pennsylvania is second-most populous, with a population of over 12.8 million. These are the only two states to have a population of over 10 million people. New Jersey is relatively populous with 8.88 million and is the most densely populated state with 1,211.3 residents per square mile. The least populous states are Vermont and Delaware, each of which has populations of less than 700,000.

In terms of area, New York is the largest at over 54,555 mi². Pennsylvania follows with 46,055 mi². According to the U.S. Census Bureau, these states are further divided into two subregions. The Mid-Atlantic states are made up of New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania. The remaining six states are classified as New England. Other definitions of this region include Delaware, Maryland, Washington D.C., West Virginia, and Virginia.

Northeast States

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.