Map Options

Color Scheme:
map placeholder
Autonomous Areas







Click on a country for details.

Autonomous Areas by Country 2024

An autonomous area may be a territory, a district, a city-state, a tax haven, or any area defined by a contract or treaty that has some freedom from an external authority. For example, Washington D.C. is a city-state that operates with some degree of independence from laws governing American states. London is another example of a city-state. An autonomous area may be set up to allow specific taxation rules or lack thereof. There are thousands of autonomous areas, and they are constantly changing.

Recognition of Autonomous Areas

Some autonomous areas are recognized by international treaties. Examples of this are Hong Kong and the Panama Canal Zone. Great Britain controlled Hong Kong until it was given back to China. China has eroded Hong Kong residents' rights and moved to replace Hong Kong law with mainland China exercising complete control. The Panama Canal Zone was an autonomous region managed by the United States until it was returned to Panama.

Other autonomous areas are created by internal regulations. Denmark owns Greenland. However, Greenland can operate separately with much autonomy, almost like an independent country.

A common form of autonomy is to be a territory of another country. Here are a few more examples:

Moreover, sub-national regions may become autonomous. An example of a country with many of these sub-national regions is Spain with these autonomous areas: Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castile–La Mancha, Castile and León, Catalonia, Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Madrid, Murcia, Navarre, and Valencian Community.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Autonomous Areas
Russia26Adygea, Altai Republic, Bashkortostan, Buryatia, Chechnya, Chuvashia, Republic of Crimea Dagestan, Ingushetia, Kabardino-Balkaria, Kalmykia, Karachay-Cherkessia, Karelia, Khakassia, Komi, Mari El, Mordovia, North Ossetia-Alania, Sakha Republic, Tatarstan, Tuva, Udmurtia, Jewish Autonomous Oblast, Chukotka, Khanty-Mansi, Nenets, Yamalo-Nenets
United Kingdom11Northern Ireland, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Anguilla
France11Alsace | Corsica | French Guiana | French Polynesia | Mayotte | Martinique | New Caledonia | Saint Barthelemy | Saint Martin | Saint Pierre and Miquelon | Wallis and Futuna
Italy8Aosta Valley | Campione d'Italia | Friuli-Venezia Giulia | Sardinia | Sicily | South Tyrol | Trentino | Trentino-Alto Adige/Sudtirol
China7Guangxi | Hong Kong | Inner Mongolia | Macau | Ningxia | Tibet | Xinjiang
Myanmar6Danu Self-Administered Zone, Kokang Self-Administered Zone, Naga Self-Administered Zone, Pa Laung Self-Administered Zone Pa-O Self-Administered Zone, Wa Self-Administered Division
Panama5Embera-Wounaan, Kuna de Madugani, Kuna de Wargandi, Kuna Yala, Ngobe-Bugle
Indonesia4Aceh | Papua | West Papua | Yogyakarta
Netherlands3Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten
New Zealand3Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau
Georgia3Abkhazia | Adjara | South Ossetia
United States2Puerto Rico, Northern Mariana Islands
Germany2Busingen am Hochrhein | Heligoland
Portugal2Azores, Madeira
Nicaragua2Atlantico Norte, Atlantico Sur
Denmark2Faroe Islands | Greenland
Moldova2Gagauzia | Transnistria
Mexico1Mexico City
Philippines1Bangsamoro Autonomous Region
South Korea1Jejudo
Iraq1Kurdish Regional Government
Australia1Torres Strait Islands
Papua New Guinea1Bougainville
Greece1Mount Athos
Finland1Aland Islands
Trinidad and Tobago1Tobago
Antigua and Barbuda1Barbuda
Saint Kitts and Nevis1Nevis
showing: 39 rows

Which countries have autonomous areas?

China, Canada, Finland, Norway, Netherlands, Germany, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Azerbaijan, Fiji, France, Georgia, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, São Tomé and Príncipe, Serbia, Somalia, South Korea, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, and the United States have autonomous areas.

Frequently Asked Questions