map placeholder
Portion Included



Click on a country for details.

GMT +7 Countries / UTC 7 Countries 2024

There are several countries that are GMT 7 countries, or countries in the GMT +7 time zone. Some of those countries have multiple regions and time zones but have areas that include the GMT +7 time zone, like the countries in North America have multiple time zones. GMT is an acronym for Greenwich Mean Time. GMT has actually been replaced by Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), but remains the more commonly known of the two terms.

Greenwich Mean Time is calculated by the meridian line in Greenwich, London, and starts at midnight. It doesn’t calculate a specified time but is a standard of measurement like inches or yards. It is the name of a time zone, like E.S.T. for Eastern Standard Time would be. Greenwich Mean Time +7 would be the time in Greenwich and London, plus seven hours. So, at noon in Greenwich, the time in GMT 7 countries would be 7:00 p.m.

UTC time is Coordinated Universal Time but can be different from GMT by approximately nine seconds. The terms are often used interchangeably. GMT is calculated at this point of the world due to the Earth’s tilt and how the Sun reaches its highest point in Greenwich. This typically occurs just moments before noon GMT.

How GMT is Used

Outside of the GMT time zone, GMT is a day that once started at noon, but now, starts at midnight like every other time zone. UTC is used frequently, and GMT is used by the United Kingdom, the BBC World Service, Middle East Broadcasting Centre, and the Royal Navy.

Official time zones do not always mirror the meridian lines, but GMT +7 can be geographical. Sometimes there are regions that fall within a meridian line but is in a completely different time zone.

The countries that are in the GMT +7 time zone are as follows:

Regions of GMT 7 Countries

Russia is a country with three different time zones, but the GMT +7 time zone regions of Russia include the Siberian Federal District areas that include:

  • Altai Krai
  • Altai Republic
  • Kemerovo Oblast
  • Khakassia
  • Krasnoyarsk Krai
  • Novosibirsk Oblast
  • Tomsk Oblast
  • Tuva

It is the Western part of Mongolia that has the GMT +7 time zone, in Hovd, Zavkhan, Uvs, Bayan-Olgii, and Govi-Altai. Australia is in the GMT+7 and the countries in Southeast Asia that are in GMT+7 include Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam.

  • As of 2023, daylight savings time is not observed in any region that occupies the UTC+07:00 time zone (though other parts of Australia or Antarctica may do so).
  • Although it is not considered a sovereign state, the Davis Station region of Antarctica also observes UTC+07:00.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Portion Included
Local Zone Name
Areas Included
IndonesiaPartialIndonesia Western Standard Time (IWST/WIB)Islands of Sumatra, Java, Madura, provinces of Bangka Belitung Islands, Riau Islands, Central Kalimantan, and West Kalimantan
RussiaPartialKrasnoyarsk Time (KRAT)Altai Krai, Altai Republic, Kemerovo Oblast, Khakassia, Krasnoyarsk Krai, Novosibirsk Oblast, Tomsk Oblast, and Tuva
AustraliaPartialChristmas Island Time (CXT)Christmas Island
MongoliaPartialWestern Mongolia (Khovd, Uvs and Bayan-Ölgii)
VietnamFullIndochina Time (ICT)
ThailandFullIndochina Time (ICT) / Thailand Standard Time (THA)
CambodiaFullIndochina Time (ICT)
LaosFullIndochina Time (ICT)

Which countries are in GMT+7?

8 countries in total are in the GMT +7 time zone: Australia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Mongolia, Russia, Thailand and Vietnam.

Frequently Asked Questions