Map Options

Color Scheme:
map placeholder
# of Spanish Speakers








Click on a country for details.

Spanish Speaking Countries 2024

The Spanish language is spoken in countries throughout the world. It is the majority language across 20 states and territories. This means that it is used as the primary language for communication across most of the population. Official documents are written in Spanish in these countries and territories, and it is taught to children in schools. Across these nations, there are over 442,000,000 people that speak Spanish.

Mexico is the Spanish-speaking nation with the highest population. As of 2014, Mexico has a population of over 120 million residents. It is the only country with a population of over 100 million that is primarily Spanish-speaking. Many Spanish-speaking countries are located around the world, most being located in South America, Latin America, and Europe.

All of the nations and territories that have Spanish as their majority language are (in alphabetical order): Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, Venezuela

Some nations have minority populations of Spanish-speaking residents. While Spanish isn’t the official language in these areas, most printed and broadcast media are also available in Spanish. The United States, while a primarily English-speaking country, has the largest population of Spanish-speaking residents among these nations. About 23% of the total population – or 52 million people – speak Spanish.

In addition to the United States, Andorra, Belize, and Gibraltar also have large populations of Spanish-speaking residents.

Spanish has also influenced creole languages spoken in areas around the world. Papiamento, which is based on Spanish, is spoken in Aruba, the Caribbean Netherlands, and Curacao. Chavacano is another Spanish-based creole language that is spoken throughout parts of the Philippines by over 600,000 people.

  • Official languages can be classified as either de jure or de facto.
  • A de jure (Latin for 'by law') language is one that is legally declared by the state to be an official language of the country.
  • A de facto (Latin for 'in fact') language is one that is a country's official language in actual practice whether it is legally declared to be or not.
  • For example, Mexico has no legally designated (de jure) official language, but Spanish is the primary language used by both the government and the overwhelming majority of Mexican citizens, making it Mexico's undisputed de facto official language.
  • Note that de jure is not to be confused with the French du jour, which means 'of the day'.
  • Each country's governing body is a division of the Association of Academies of the Spanish Language (ASALE),

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

# of Spanish Speakers
Regulatory Body
Official Language
Official Language Status
Additional Details
Mexico126MAcademia Mexicana de la LenguaYesDe factoMexican Spanish
Colombia51.3MAcademia Colombiana de la LenguaYesDe jureColombian Spanish
Argentina45.4MAcademia Argentina de LetrasYesDe factoRioplatense Spanish
Spain43.3MReal Academia EspañolaYesDe jurePeninsular Spanish
United States41.8MAcademia Norteamericana de la Lengua EspañolaNoSignificant
Spanish is spoken by 41 million native speakers and as a second language by another 11 million, givi...
Venezuela32.5MAcademia Venezolana de la LenguaYesDe jureVenezuelan Spanish
Peru29MAcademia Peruana de la LenguaYesDe jurePeruvian Spanish
Chile19MAcademia Chilena de la LenguaYesDe factoChilean Spanish
Ecuador15.5MAcademia Ecuatoriana de la LenguaYesDe jureEcuadorian Spanish
Guatemala13.6MAcademia Guatemalteca de la LenguaYesDe jureGuatemalan Spanish
Cuba11.3MAcademia Cubana de la LenguaYesDe jureCuban Spanish
Dominican Republic10.4MAcademia Dominicana de la LenguaYesDe jureDominican Spanish
Bolivia10MAcademia Boliviana de la LenguaYesDe jureBolivian Spanish
Honduras9.4MAcademia Hondureña de la LenguaYesDe jureHonduran Spanish
Nicaragua6.6MAcademia Nicaragüense de la LenguaYesDe jureNicaraguan Spanish
El Salvador6.5MAcademia Salvadoreña de la LenguaYesDe jureSalvadoran Spanish
Costa Rica5.2MAcademia Costarricense de la LenguaYesDe jureCosta Rican Spanish
Paraguay5.1MAcademia Paraguaya de la Lengua EspañolaYesDe jureParaguayan Spanish
Panama4.1MAcademia Panameña de la LenguaYesDe jurePanamanian Spanish
Uruguay3.4MAcademia Nacional de LetrasYesDe factoUruguayan Spanish
Puerto Rico3.2MAcademia Puertorriqueña de la Lengua EspañolaYesDe jurePuerto Rican Spanish
Equatorial Guinea1.1MAcademia Ecuatoguineana de la Lengua EspañolaYesDe jureEquatoguinean Spanish
2010 Census data indicated that 56.6% of Belizeans spoke Spanish. Belize borders both Mexico and Gua...
Spanish is spoken by approximately 48.6% of the Andorran population. It is often used in educational...
Approximately 75% of Gibraltar's population speaks Spanish. Gibraltar is a British Overseas Territor...
showing: 25 rows

How many countries speak Spanish?

Spanish is a language that is spoken throughout the world, but there are currently 21 countries that use Spanish as their majority language.

Frequently Asked Questions