Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

There are 22 states without NBA teams: Arizona, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

States without NBA Teams 2024

States without NBA Teams 2024

In the electrifying world of professional basketball, the NBA boasts teams spread across the United States, bringing the sport's excitement to fans far and wide. With a total of 29 states hosting NBA franchises, basketball fever runs high, but what about the states without their own NBA teams?

First off, it's worth noting that the NBA landscape is dominated by teams in major metropolitan areas, leaving some states without representation on the professional basketball stage. Take a look at states like Alaska, Wyoming, and Montana, where the thrill of NBA action is absent from local arenas.

While these states may lack NBA teams of their own, basketball enthusiasts need not despair. Many fans in states without NBA franchises turn their attention to neighboring states or follow their favorite players and teams from afar. In fact, some states without NBA teams have vibrant basketball cultures of their own, nurturing local talent and fostering grassroots basketball communities.

Moreover, for those itching to catch NBA games live, road trips and travel adventures await. From cheering on the Utah Jazz in Salt Lake City to experiencing the buzz of a Los Angeles Lakers game, basketball aficionados have plenty of opportunities to immerse themselves in the NBA experience, no matter where they call home.

So, while states without NBA teams may not have the thrill of home games or the hometown pride of rooting for a local team, basketball's widespread popularity ensures that fans everywhere can still revel in the excitement of the NBA season. Whether it's tuning in from the comfort of home or embarking on a basketball pilgrimage, the love for the game knows no bounds.

States without NBA Teams 2024

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

NBA Teams
ArizonaPhoenix Suns
CaliforniaGolden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Sacramento Kings,
ColoradoDenver Nuggets
District of ColumbiaWashington Wizards
FloridaMiami Heat, Orlando Magic,
GeorgiaAtlanta Hawks
IllinoisChicago Bulls
IndianaIndiana Pacers
LouisianaNew Orleans Pelicans
MassachusettsBoston Celtics
MichiganDetroit Pistons
MinnesotaMinnesota Timberwolves
New YorkBrooklyn Nets, New York Knicks,
North CarolinaCharlotte Hornets
OhioCleveland Cavaliers
OklahomaOklahoma City Thunder
OregonPortland Trail Blazers
PennsylvaniaPhiladelphia 76ers
TennesseeMemphis Grizzlies
TexasDallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, San Antonio Spurs
UtahUtah Jazz
WisconsinMilwaukee Bucks