map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

14-Letter Countries / Countries with 14-Letter Names

There are technically six countries that contain 14 letters in their name. The first two are Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. Also counted are the two island nations Gilbert Islands and Pitcairn Island. The last two have common names with 14 letters. Those are North Macedonia and the Somali Republic.

Two islands in the Solomon Island Archipelago, claiming 14 letters in their names, are the sovereign states of the Solomon Islands and what is known as the Autonomous Region of Bougainville or Papua New Guinea. Both nations are constitutional monarchies and share governance over 1,000 islands in the region.

The nation of the Solomon Islands in Melanesia consists of six major islands. There are also roughly 900 smaller atolls and islets. The island chain was used in WWII and contains the historic memorial Guadalcanal on one of the larger islands. This region of the South Pacific is part of Oceania, located northeast of Australia.

Papua New Guinea occupies the eastern part of Papua, immediately north of Australia. The island is geologically and biologically diverse with volcanoes, granite mountains, and a dense rainforest.

The Gilbert Islands in the Pacific Ocean are between Papua New Guinea to the west and Hawaii to the east. They are a north-to-south chain of sixteen coral islands, passing over the Tropic of Capricorn. The capital is South Tarawa on Tarawa Island. The Gilbert's have been continuously inhabited for over 2,000 years, first settled by the Oceania peoples.

The independent nation of Pitcairn Island is one of four volcanic islands of the British Overseas Territory in the South Pacific. The island is just south of the Tropic of Capricorn - west of Chile and east of Australia. Accessible only by boat, Polynesians settled it before the 11th century.

North Macedonia, also known as the Republic of North Macedonia, is a landlocked country immediately north of the Greek Peninsula. An ancient area first settled by South Slavic tribes in the 6th century, it is bordered by Serbia and Bulgaria to the north and east. Albania and Greece share its western and southern borders.

The eastern African nation of the Somali Republic is officially known as the Federal Republic of Somalia. It occupies the Horn of Africa and has the longest coastline on the continent.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Official Name
UN Member
North MacedoniaRepublic of North Macedonia
Papua New GuineaIndependent State of Papua New Guinea
Solomon IslandsSolomon Islands

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Number of Letters
Number of Countries
412Chad, Cuba, Fiji, Guam, Iran, Iraq, Laos, Mali, Niue, Oman, Peru, Togo
526Aruba, Benin, Chile, China, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Haiti, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Libya, Macau, Malta, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Palau, Qatar, Samoa, Spain, Sudan, Syria, Tonga, Yemen
632Angola, Belize, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, France, Gambia, Greece, Guinea, Guyana, Israel, Jersey, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Malawi, Mexico, Monaco, Norway, Panama, Poland, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, Zambia
747Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Burundi, Comoros, Croatia, Curacao, Denmark, DR Congo, Ecuador, Eritrea, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Mayotte, Moldova, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nigeria, Reunion, Romania, Senegal, Somalia, Tokelau, Tunisia, Ukraine, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vietnam
828Anguilla, Barbados, Botswana, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Colombia, Djibouti, Dominica, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Guernsey, Honduras, Hong Kong, Kiribati, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Pakistan, Paraguay, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Zimbabwe
916Argentina, Australia, Cape Verde, Costa Rica, Gibraltar, Greenland, Guatemala, Indonesia, Isle of Man, Lithuania, Mauritius, Nicaragua, Palestine, San Marino, Singapore, Venezuela
1025Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Guadeloupe, Ivory Coast, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Martinique, Mauritania, Micronesia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, New Zealand, North Korea, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Seychelles, South Korea, South Sudan, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan
1112Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Cook Islands, Netherlands, Philippines, Saint Martin, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Sint Maarten, South Africa, Switzerland, Vatican City
126Faroe Islands, French Guiana, Guinea-Bissau, New Caledonia, Turkmenistan, United States
136American Samoa, Cayman Islands, Czech Republic, Liechtenstein, United Kingdom, Western Sahara
143North Macedonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands
155Falkland Islands, French Polynesia, Marshall Islands, Saint Barthelemy, Wallis and Futuna
161Equatorial Guinea

14-Letter Countries / Countries with 14-Letter Names

How many countries have 14 letters in them?

There are 3 countries (including territories) with 14 letters in their name.

Which country names have 14 letters in them?

The countries with 14 letters are: North Macedonia, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands.

Frequently Asked Questions