Countries without An A 2022

map placeholder

Every nation around the world is identified by its unique name. Some names are long, while others are short. Some nations have names made up of two words. And others, like the ones in these lists, are missing a specific letter. In this case, that letter is "a."

There are plenty of countries with at least one "a" in their names – the United States of America, Canada, and China, for example. There are just 33 nations in the world that don't contain this letter in their name. It is important to note that many of the countries on this list do not contain the letter "a" in their commonly used names but may have the letter in their official name. For example, Egypt does not contain this letter, but its official name – the Arab Republic of Egypt – does.

Several countries with four-letter names have no "a": Fiji, Niue, Peru, and Togo. Several countries with five letters also have no "a": Benin, Egypt, Niger, and Yemen.

Africa has the most countries lacking the letter "a" with a total of 12. These countries include Benin, Burundi, Comors, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Lesotho, Morocco, Niger, Seychelles, and Togo. In Europe, a total of ten nations lack the letter "a" in their names. Those countries are Belgium, Czech Republic, Greece, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Sweden, Turkey, and United Kingdom.

In the Americas, just four countries don't have the first letter of the alphabet in their names. These nations are Belize, Chile, Mexico, and Peru. Asia also has just four nations that lack this letter. Those nations are Brunei, cyprus, Timor-Leste, and Yemen. Finally, Oceania has just one country without the letter A. That is Fiji, which is an island located near New Zealand.

Countries without An A 2022

Countries without An A 2022