Capitol Buildings by State 2023


Located in downtown Harrisburg, the Pennsylvania State Capitol is the seat of the government when presiding over the state of Pennsylvania. The state capitol houses both the Senate and House of Representatives, as well as the superior and supreme courts of the state. In addition, the office of the governor is created and left both symbolically and practically when they are conducting important business. The building itself was ordered in the late 19th century, and construction took four years, eventually finishing in 1906. Joseph Miller Huston designed the concept in 1902 after taking the proposals and requests and wanted to do it in a Beaux-Arts style. The more astute observer will notice that even though the design is Beaux-Art, the building itself is decorated using the Renaissance style.

Currently, the building is lathered with sculptures, murals, and statues. the beautiful stained glass windows are a marvel to look at. Because of its natural beauty, it was called the Palace of Art and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.


The Iowa State Capitol is located in the capital city of Des Moines and is the only five-domed capitol in the entire country. Constructed between 1871 and 1886, the building took a long time to put together due to a lack of direction and funding. Much like other state capitols, the building houses the General Assembly, the House of Representatives, the Senate, and the Office of the Governor. The building itself is well-built and rectangular in shape with high ceilings and windows, decorated in the Renaissance style.

The elevation of the building is set higher than the rest of the city, which was done on purpose. Onlookers can take a panoramic view of the state capitol and take heed of its large number of sculptures. The exterior appearance of the building has decorative stone and decorative bricks, which makes it a significant historical center.


One of the most iconic state capitals can be found in Vermont, in the city of Montpelier. It is a smaller building when compared to other designs, but the architectural style is named "Greek-revival", an adage to its large golden-colored dome that is supported by columns much like a pantheon. The building was designed in 1857 by architect Thomas Silloway, and his team completed the construction in 1859. The large entrance has portraits of the presidents Chester A. Arther and Calvin Coolidge, both with a proud heritage of being born in the state of Vermont.

Unlike many of the other Capitol Buildings, the state house does not have a rotunda found within. The most interesting sight can be found on top of the golden dome, named agriculture. This is an adage to what the state is known for and combines Roman mythology. The Roman goddess of agriculture is what gave the statue the name, which is said to bless the state with its fertile abundance, especially in terms of crop growth, wilderness, and wildlife diversity.

Capitol Buildings by State 2023

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Building Name
Height (ft)
Construction Years
AlabamaAlabama State Capitol600 Dexter Avenue (capitol), 11 South Union Street (state house)Montgomery1191850–1851 (capitol), 1885 (East wing), 1903–1906 (South wing), 1911–1912 (North wing), 1960 (State House)
AlaskaAlaska State Capitol120 4th StreetJuneau1181929–1931
ArizonaArizona State Capitol1700 West Washington StreetPhoenix921899–1900
ArkansasArkansas State Capitol500 Woodlane StreetLittle Rock2301899–1915
CaliforniaCalifornia State Capitol1010 L StreetSacramento2471860–1874
ColoradoColorado State Capitol200 East Colfax AvenueDenver2721886–1907
ConnecticutConnecticut State Capitol210 Capitol AvenueHartford2571872–1879
DelawareDelaware Legislative Hall410 Legislative AvenueDover701933-1933 1965-1970 (north and south wings) 1994 (expansion of east wings)
FloridaFlorida State Capitol400 South Monroe StreetTallahassee3221973–1977
GeorgiaGeorgia State Capitol206 Washington Street SouthwestAtlanta2721883–1889
HawaiiHawaii State Capitol415 South Beretania StreetHonolulu1001960–1969
IdahoIdaho State Capitol700 West Jefferson StreetBoise2081905–1913 1919–1920 (wings) 2008–2010 (underground wings)
IllinoisIllinois State Capitol401 South 2nd StreetSpringfield3611884–1887 (construction)
IndianaIndiana Statehouse200 West Washington StreetIndianapolis2561877–1888
IowaIowa State Capitol1007 E Grand AveDes Moines2751871–1886
KansasKansas State Capitol300 West 10th AvenueTopeka3261866–1873 (east wing), 1879–1881 (west wing), 1884–1906 (center)
KentuckyKentucky State Capitol700 Capitol AvenueFrankfort2101905–1910
LouisianaLouisiana State Capitol900 North Third StreetBaton Rouge4501930–1932
MaineMaine State House210 State StreetAugusta1851828–1832 1889–1891 (wing) 1909–1911 (wings)
MarylandMaryland State House100 State CircleAnnapolis1811772–1797
MassachusettsMassachusetts State House24 Beacon StreetBoston2001795–1798
MichiganMichigan State Capitol100 North Capitol AvenueLansing2701872–1878 (opened in 1879)
MinnesotaMinnesota State Capitol75 Rev. Martin Luther King Jr BoulevardSaint Paul2231893–1905
MississippiMississippi State Capitol400 High StreetJackson1801901–1903
MissouriMissouri State Capitol201 West Capitol AvenueJefferson City2381911–1917
MontanaMontana State Capitol1301 East 6th AvenueHelena1651896–1902 1909–1912 (wings)
NebraskaNebraska State Capitol1445 K StreetLincoln4001919–1932
New HampshireNew Hampshire State House107 North Main StreetConcord1501815–1818
New JerseyNew Jersey State House125 West State StreetTrenton1451792-1792
New MexicoNew Mexico State Capitol490 Old Santa Fe TrailSanta Fe351964–1966
New YorkNew York State CapitolState Street and Washington AvenueAlbany2201867–1899
North CarolinaNorth Carolina State Capitol1 East Edenton Street (capitol), 16 West Jones Street (legislative building)Raleigh981833-1840, 1963 (Legislative Building)
North DakotaNorth Dakota State Capitol600 East Boulevard AvenueBismarck2421920–1924 1931–1934 (office tower & wing)
OhioOhio Statehouse1 Capitol SquareColumbus1581837–1861
OklahomaOklahoma State Capitol2300 North Lincoln BoulevardOklahoma City2551914–1917 2000-2002 (dome)
OregonOregon State Capitol900 Court Street NortheastSalem1621935-1935 1977 (wings)
PennsylvaniaPennsylvania State Capitol501 North 3rd StreetHarrisburg2721904-1906
Rhode IslandRhode Island State House82 Smith StreetProvidence2231895–1904
South CarolinaSouth Carolina State House1100 Gervais StreetColumbia1801855-1907
South DakotaSouth Dakota State Capitol500 East Capitol AvenuePierre1611905–1911
TennesseeTennessee State Capitol600 Dr. M.L.K. Jr. BoulevardNashville2061845–1859
TexasTexas State Capitol1100 Congress AvenueAustin3111881–1888 1993 (underground extension)
UtahUtah State Capitol350 State StreetSalt Lake City2861912–1916 2004-2008 (major restoration and renovation)
VermontVermont State House115 State StreetMontpelier1361834–1836
VirginiaVirginia State Capitol1000 Bank StreetRichmond831785–1790 1904–1906 (wings); restored, renovated and expanded 2004-2007
WashingtonWashington State Capitol416 Sid Snyder Avenue SouthwestOlympia2871919–1928 (Legislative building)
West VirginiaWest Virginia State Capitol1900 Kanawha Boulevard EastCharleston2921924–1932
WisconsinWisconsin State Capitol2 East Main StreetMadison2841906–1917 1988-2002 (major renovation and restoration)
WyomingWyoming State Capitol200 West 24th StreetCheyenne1461886–1890 1915–1917 (House and Senate chambers)
showing: 49 rows

Capitol Buildings by State 2023