Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder
Colorado
21
Connecticut
21
Delaware
21
Hawaii
21
Illinois
21
Louisiana
21
Maryland
21
Massachusetts
21
Michigan
21
Minnesota
21
Nevada
21
New Jersey
21
New Mexico
21
New York
21
North Carolina
21
Oregon
21
Pennsylvania
21
Rhode Island
21
South Carolina
21
Virginia
21
Washington
21
Wisconsin
21
California
18

CCW Age by State 2024

CCW Age by State 2024

CCW Age by State 2024

Notes:
- CCW = Concealed carry, which requires a license.
- PC = Permitless concealed carry, which requires no license.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

State
CCW Age Minimum
Additional Requirements
California18A licensing authority has the discretion to require applicants to be older than 18 years of age. Requires minimum eight-hour firearms training course.
Colorado21Concealed carry permits require completion of a state-approved firearms training course.
Connecticut21Requires a state-approved firearms training course that includes live-fire exercises. In terms of reciprocity, Connecticut does not honor permits from any other states.
Delaware21A firearms training course that includes live-fire shooting exercises is required to obtain a permit.
Hawaii21Concealed carry permits require completion of a state-approved firearms training course.
Illinois21A 16-hour firearms training course conducted by a state-approved instructor is required for all new concealed carry license applications. Non-resident licenses are only available for residents of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia.
Louisiana21Permitless carry is legal for active duty military and veterans only. Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with a permit/license from a state recognized by Louisiana.
Maryland21Open and concealed carry are legal in Maryland only for Maryland Wear/Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP) holders.
Massachusetts21Concealed carry is legal in Massachusetts for individuals who have a Massachusetts License to Carry (LTC) or a formerly issued, valid Class A LTC. LTCs are issued to residents and non-residents. LTCs require a state-approved firearms training course.
Michigan21Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for non-residents who are at least 21 years old and who have licenses/permits from their state of residency.
Minnesota21Both open carry and concealed carry are legal with a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) or a permit from a state Minnesota honors, as there is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed.
Nevada21Minimum age drops to 18 for military servicepeople. Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Nevada Firearm permit and for non-residents with a license/permit from a state Nevada honors. An approved course in firearm safety and demonstrate competence (qualify) with any handgun is required.
New Jersey21Concealed carry is only legal with a New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun (PCH). A firearms training course is required for new applicants.
New Mexico21A New Mexico Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is required for residents and a permit from a state that New Mexico honors is required for non-residents to carry a concealed loaded firearm. A 15-hour handgun safety course that includes live-fire instruction is required.
New York21The application process may differ depending on the type of license and the issuing county. NY doesn’t recognize permits/licenses from any other states. Only residents, part-time residents, or anyone who is principally employed or has his or her principal place of business can obtain a New York Pistol License (NYPL).
North Carolina21Concealed carry is legal for residents with a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with any valid license/permit.
Oregon21Requires approved firearms training course or participation in organized shooting competition or military experience.
Pennsylvania21
Rhode Island21Applicants are required to explain why they need a firearm and how it will remedy their problem and must provide three notarized references.
South Carolina21
Virginia21Requires a state-approved firearms training course and demonstrated competence with the firearm.
Washington21
Wisconsin21CWLs are only issued to residents and military personnel stationed in Wisconsin. Requires firearms training course and other criteria.
showing: 23 rows

CCW Age by State 2024

Sources