Countries in Americas 2022

map placeholder

While most English-speaking countries (as well as China and India) teach that there are seven continents, other countries group North America and South America together as a single continent. This combined continent is typically known as the Americas, or simply America, and stretches 14,000 km (8,700 mi) from north to south, nearly touching both the Arctic and Antarctic Circles. The Americas have more than 1.014 billion inhabitants and boast an area of over 16.43 million square miles. The Americas comprise 35 countries, including some of the world's largest countries, as well as several dependent territories.

The United States is the most populous country in the Americas, with nearly 333 million residents across its 50 states. This is followed by Brazil, with nearly 214 million, and Mexico, with its 130 million residents. These three countries comprise roughly two thirds of the Americas' total population. They also contain five of the eight megacities—cities with 10 million or more residents—in the Americas: New York, Mexico City, São Paulo (Brazil), Los Angeles, and Rio de Janeiro (Brazil). The three remaining megacities are Buenos Aires (Argentina), Bogotá (Colombia), and Lima (Peru).

Although the United States is the largest country in the Americas by population—and, in fact, by land area—it is not the largest by total area, which also includes lakes and rivers. Canada is the largest single country by total area (and the second-largest in the world, after Russia). Despite its physical size, Canada has a much smaller population than the United States, with 38 million inhabitants—not many more than the South American country of Peru (33.3 million), home of the ruins of Machu Picchu. On the other end of the size spectrum is Saint Kitts and Nevis, the smallest independent nation in the Americas, home to just over 53,000 people.

Interestingly, many of the smallest territories in the Americas are geographically American, but politically European. These include the French-controlled archipelago of Saint Pierre and Miquelon (5,766 inhabitants) off the northwest coast of Canada, as well as two British territories: the Caribbean island of Montserrat (5,203 residents) and the Falkland Islands (population 3,533) near the coast of Argentina. The table below displays a complete list of all the countries in the Americas.

Countries in Americas 2022

Rank Country 2022 Population Growth Rate Area
1United States338,289,8570.38%9,372,610 km²
2Brazil215,313,4980.46%8,515,767 km²
3Mexico127,504,1250.63%1,964,375 km²
4Colombia51,874,0240.69%1,141,748 km²
5Argentina45,510,3180.52%2,780,400 km²
6Canada38,454,3270.78%9,984,670 km²
7Peru34,049,5880.99%1,285,216 km²
8Venezuela28,301,6960.36%916,445 km²
9Chile19,603,7330.57%756,102 km²
10Ecuador18,001,0001.14%276,841 km²
11Guatemala17,843,9081.34%108,889 km²
12Bolivia12,224,1101.20%1,098,581 km²
13Haiti11,584,9961.20%27,750 km²
14Dominican Republic11,228,8211.00%48,671 km²
15Cuba11,212,191-0.39%109,884 km²
16Honduras10,432,8601.50%112,492 km²
17Nicaragua6,948,3921.43%130,373 km²
18Paraguay6,780,7441.15%406,752 km²
19El Salvador6,336,3920.35%21,041 km²
20Costa Rica5,180,8290.52%51,100 km²
21Panama4,408,5811.32%75,417 km²
22Uruguay3,422,794-0.10%181,034 km²
23Jamaica2,827,377-0.01%10,991 km²
24Trinidad And Tobago1,531,0440.35%5,130 km²
25Guyana808,7260.52%214,969 km²
26Suriname618,0400.83%163,820 km²
27Bahamas409,9840.51%13,943 km²
28Belize405,2721.31%22,966 km²
29Barbados281,6350.15%430 km²
30Saint Lucia179,8570.11%616 km²
31Grenada125,4380.66%344 km²
32Saint Vincent And the Grenadines103,948-0.37%389 km²
33Antigua And Barbuda93,7630.58%442 km²
34Dominica72,7370.45%751 km²
35Saint Kitts And Nevis47,6570.11%261 km²

Countries in Americas 2022