Scandinavian Countries 2022

map placeholder

Scandinavia is a region located in Europe. The actual nations that make up Scandinavia vary based on who you ask. In Europe, Scandinavia is a term used to describe the region made up by Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. In other parts of the world, the term is used to describe a region made up of these nations:

However, others argue that Denmark, Norway, and Sweden are the true Scandinavian countries, while the addition of the others becomes a region known as the Nordic countries.

The total area of these three nations is about 358,325 square miles. Based on estimates from 2017, there are approximately 21 million inhabitants living in Scandinavia. The population density of this region is very low at less than 60 people per square mile.

The largest Scandinavian country by area is Sweden. This nation is also the most populous with a population exceeding 10 million. Both Norway and Denmark each have less than 6 million inhabitants.

There are multiple languages spoken throughout Scandinavia. North Germanic languages including Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, and Icelandic, are spoken. Finnish and Sami languages are also spoken in the region.

Scandinavian Countries 2022

Scandinavian Countries 2022