map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Travel Ban Countries 2024

On March 6, 2017, United States President Donald Trump signed Executive Order 13780, also known as the Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States order. This replaced a previous executive order that was issued in January of 2017. Since it was signed, two presidential proclamations have revised the order. This is because court rulings prevented provisions of the order from being enforced. However, the Supreme Court has upheld the most recent version since June of 2018. This executive order is also known informally as the “travel ban.” Under the order, there are limitations or bans placed on nationals from other nations who are traveling to the United States. The travel ban has been a very controversial issue. The executive order was signed in order to secure the borders of the U.S. and protect it from terrorism. However, some people believe that it is in violation of the Constitution and argue that it the order was simply part of an anti-Muslim agenda.

There are currently seven nations on the travel ban list: Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. Chad was removed from the travel ban list effective April 10, 2018. For Iranians, only nationals with student vistas or exchange visitor vistas can enter the U.S. However, even with these credentials, all nations are subject to enhanced screening. For Libyans, entry of nations on a business, tourist, or business/tourist visa has been suspended. Entry of all North Korean and Syrian nationals has been suspended. Specific government officials from Venezuela, as well as their immediate family members on business, tourist, or business/tourist visas, are suspended from entering the U.S. For Yemen nations, Yemenis with business, tourist, or business/tourist visas aren’t allowed in the United States. Finally, entry of Somali nationals as immigrants has been suspended.

  • On January 20, 2021, newly inaugurated president Joe Biden issued a proclamation revoking the Trump travel bans, with the exception of the reverse travel ban prohibiting American citizens from traveling to North Korea.
  • The "Trump Travel Ban" was actually a series of Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations. The most well-known was the third in the series, Presidential Proclamation 9645, which was issued Sept. 24, 2017 and restricted travel from eight countries: six Muslim-majority countries, Venezuela, and North Korea.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Advisory Level
Date Issued
RussiaLevel 4: Do Not Travel09-05-2023
IranLevel 4: Do Not Travel01-11-2024
MyanmarLevel 4: Do Not Travel01-22-2024
SudanLevel 4: Do Not Travel04-22-2023
IraqLevel 4: Do Not Travel10-22-2023
AfghanistanLevel 4: Do Not Travel12-18-2023
UkraineLevel 4: Do Not Travel05-22-2023
YemenLevel 4: Do Not Travel12-19-2023
VenezuelaLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-17-2023
North KoreaLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-24-2023
SyriaLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-13-2023
MaliLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-31-2023
Burkina FasoLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-31-2023
SomaliaLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-31-2023
HaitiLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-27-2023
South SudanLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-31-2023
BelarusLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-26-2023
LibyaLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-13-2023
Central African RepublicLevel 4: Do Not Travel07-31-2023

What countries are US citizens not allowed to visit?

In 2018, a travel ban was put in place that prevented US citizens from visiting Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. Chad was originally on the list, but it was later removed.

Frequently Asked Questions