Map Options

Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

Ninth Circuit States 2024

Ninth Circuit States 2024

In the United States, the Ninth Circuit – or formally the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit – is one of the nation’s 13 court of appeals. There are 29 judges in this court, which was first established in 1891. When it was first established, the 9th circuit covered the states of California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington and served a population of over 2 million. Today, a number of states and territories have been added to the list and as of 2010, the courts serve a total population of over 61.7 million.

The main headquarters for the 9th Circuit is located in the James R. Browning Court of Appeals Building in San Francisco, California. There are additional locations in Seattle, Washington; Pasadena, California; and Portland, Oregon. This court has appellate jurisdiction over several U.S. district courts including:

  • District of Alaska
  • District of Arizona
  • Central District of California
  • Eastern District of California
  • Northern District of California
  • Southern District of California
  • District of Hawaii
  • District of Idaho
  • District of Montana
  • District of Nevada
  • District of Oregon
  • Eastern District of Washington
  • Western District of Washington.

In the U.S. territories of the Northern Mariana Islands and Guam, the 9th Circuit also has appellate jurisdiction.

Ninth Circuit States 2024

  • California is divided into a Central District, Eastern District, Northern District, and Southern District
  • Washington is divided into an Eastern District and Western District
  • All other states are represented by a single, statewide district
  • The Ninth District also includes two US territories: Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

showing: 50 rows

Frequently Asked Questions