Varies by County

No blue laws

No vehicle sales

No vehicle or hard liquor sales

No off-premise sales

No hard liquor sales

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

Blue Laws by State 2020

Blue laws are laws designed to restrict certain activities on Sundays (or other specific days) for religious reasons in order to observe a day of worship or rest. Blue law also may ban shopping or ban sale of specific items on Sundays.

While blue laws may seem unconstitutional because they are based on religion, the U.S. Supreme Court has ruled them constitutional by citing that blue laws secure a day of rest for certain workers, and guarantee the free exercise of religion.

There are currently 28 states with blue laws, and the laws vary by each state, and different counties occasionally have their own blue laws.


Out of Arkansas’s 75 counties, 39 are “dry” counties where the sale of alcohol is prohibited. Private facilities are given some exceptions, and must have hard-to-obtain licenses. The sale of alcoholic beverages is entirely prohibited on Christmas Day. In most counties, alcohol and liquor sales are not allowed on Sundays and statewide Christmas Day.


Up until 2003, Delaware banned the sale of liquor on Sundays. Today, alcoholic liquor can only be sold in specifically establishments between the hours of 9 am to 1 am.


Some counties in Florida prohibit alcohol and sex toy sales on Sundays and during certain hours of the day.


Horse racing is prohibited on Sundays unless authorized by the local municipality. Car dealerships are closed on Sundays.


Sunday alcohol sales are permitted between noon and 8pm.


It is illegal for almost all businesses to be open on Thanksgiving. Hunting is illegal on Sundays.


Professional sports cannot play games before 1pm on Sundays. Except in Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George's counties, a new or used car dealer may not sell, barter, deliver, give away, show, or offer for sale a motor vehicle or certificate of title for a motor vehicle on Sunday.


Certain businesses have controlled hours of operation and the blue laws require that some businesses (retail establishments) pay their employees extra compensation on Sundays and on some holidays.


It is prohibited to buy, sell, or participate in a trade of motor vehicles on Sunday.


Liquor stores that choose to be open on Sundays are only allowed to operate between 11am and 6pm. Car dealerships are not allowed to be open or do business on Sundays anywhere in the state.


The sale of alcohol on Sundays is prohibited statewide.

New Jersey

Bergen County practices one of the only remaining Sunday closing laws. Shopping for clothing, electronics and furniture is not allowed on Sundays in Bergen County, which has four major malls. The city of Paramus in Bergen County has stricter blue laws, which ban all type of work on Sundays except in grocery stores, pharmacies, hotels, restaurants and other hospitality workplaces.

New Mexico

On-premise alcohol sale is allowed from 7am to 2am and off-premise until midnight. No alcohol sales on or off premise on Sundays or Christmas Day.

New York

Alcohol can start being served on Sundays at 10am, thanks to introduction of the “Brunch Bill” in 2016. Certain New York counties have their own separate blue laws.

North Carolina

Alcohol sales are prohibited between 2am and 7am Monday through Saturday, and between 2am and either 10am or 12pm on Sundays depending on the county. Gun hunting is prohibited between 9:30am and 12:30pm on Sundays.


Car dealerships are closed on Sunday. Selling packaged liquor is prohibited on Sundays. Alcohol sales are prohibited on New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day.


Hunting is prohibited on Sundays, except for foxes, crows, or coyotes. Car dealerships are closed on Sunday.


Alcohol cannot be consumed on-premise between 3am and 10am on Sundays. If the local government had decided against extended hours for alcohol sales, the prohibited hours are 3am to noon.


Car dealerships must close on either Saturday or Sunday, and have the option to determine which day. Any retailer with a license can sell beer and wine for “off-premise consumption.” Beer can be sold from 7am to midnight Monday through Saturday, and from midnight to 1am and noon until midnight on Sunday. Wine can be sold between 7am to midnight Monday through Saturday, and from midnight to 2am and noon until midnight on Sunday. Liquor must be sold at specialized stores. Liquor cannot be sold on Sunday; on New Year’s Day, Thanksgiving or Christmas; and between 9pm and 10am.


Bars, clubs, and taverns are allowed to sell alcohol from 10am to 1am. Restaurants that serve alcohol are allowed between 11:30am to 1am, and the alcohol must be ordered with food. Additionally, alcohol sales have to remain under 30% of the restaurant’s total sales.

Blue Laws by State 2020

State Blue Laws
OklahomaVaries by County
New MexicoVaries by County
MississippiVaries by County
MarylandVaries by County
LouisianaVaries by County
KentuckyVaries by County
GeorgiaVaries by County
FloridaVaries by County
ArkansasVaries by County
AlabamaVaries by County
WisconsinNo vehicle sales
PennsylvaniaNo vehicle sales
North DakotaNo vehicle sales
New JerseyNo vehicle sales
MissouriNo vehicle sales
MinnesotaNo vehicle sales
MichiganNo vehicle sales
MaineNo vehicle sales
IowaNo vehicle sales
IllinoisNo vehicle sales
ColoradoNo vehicle sales
IndianaNo vehicle or hard liquor sales
UtahNo off-premise sales
South DakotaNo off-premise sales
KansasNo off-premise sales
West VirginiaNo hard liquor sales
TexasNo hard liquor sales
South CarolinaNo hard liquor sales
North CarolinaNo hard liquor sales
MontanaNo hard liquor sales
WyomingNo blue laws
WashingtonNo blue laws
VirginiaNo blue laws
VermontNo blue laws
TennesseeNo blue laws
Rhode IslandNo blue laws
OregonNo blue laws
OhioNo blue laws
New YorkNo blue laws
New HampshireNo blue laws
NevadaNo blue laws
NebraskaNo blue laws
MassachusettsNo blue laws
IdahoNo blue laws
HawaiiNo blue laws
DelawareNo blue laws
ConnecticutNo blue laws
CaliforniaNo blue laws
ArizonaNo blue laws
AlaskaNo blue laws