Even though the exact rules can vary from state to state, you should expect your insurance company to give you at least 30 days of notice before they decide to cancel your policy. For example, your car insurance company must give you 30 days of notice before they either cancel your policy or renew it.
Insurance companies need to give you notice because you do not want to have a lapse in coverage. If your insurance company does not give you enough notice, then you might not have time to find a new insurance policy before the old one expires. Then, you could have a lapse in coverage, meaning that you are at a significant risk of suffering a serious adverse financial event.
There are not a lot of reasons why your insurance company might cancel your insurance policy in the middle of it. After the 60 days have passed, your policy should be good until the end of the term. This means, for example, that your auto insurance will not be canceled no matter how bad your driving might be.
If you do not pay your insurance bill on time, or if the insurance company realizes that you lied on the application, they may cancel your policy prematurely. That is why it is important to be honest when applying for any type of insurance, including car insurance.
It is also possible for your insurance company to cancel your policy prematurely. Again, laws vary from state to state, but your insurance company typically has 60 days to cancel your policy for any reason. After the 60 days are up, your policy is active until the end of the policy or unless you break the contract somehow.
It is highly unusual for an insurance company to cancel your policy without reason. If your insurance company suddenly cancels your policy after a few days, you should contact the company for clarification. Typically, they cancel your insurance policy early because they realize you are a greater risk potential than they previously thought.
It depends on the type of policy you have. For example, if you purchase health insurance on your own, you should expect your policy to be good for a year. Usually, there is a specific enrollment period during which you can decide whether you want to keep your same policy or switch to a new policy.
On the other hand, most car insurance policies last for six months. Even though a few car companies renew your policy for an entire year, six months is the most common length of time. Although you might be able to get a shorter policy, you will typically have to pay more every month for this type of flexibility.
Cancellation Days Notice
Cancellation Days Notice Non-Payment
|Alabama||20||10||Customer failed to disclose accidents or traffic violations from the last 36 months.|
|Connecticut||10||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license or vehicle registration was revoked.|
|Delaware||30||15||Customer's car has not been inspected or fails inspection.|
|Georgia||10||Nonpayment of any premium or installment. Customer committed material misrepresentation such as untruth regarding their garaging location.|
|Hawaii||15||The license of the principal driver of the car is suspended or revoked. Nonpayment of premium.|
|Idaho||20||10||Customer has been ticketed for racing|
|Illinois||30||10||Customer's car is defective in some way.|
|Indiana||60||10||Nonpayment of premium. Customer, their household members, or anyone who customarily drives their car has had their license suspended, revoked or denied during the policy period.|
|Iowa||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Nonpayment of dues or fees to an association where customer's membership is required in order to obtain or continue the insurance policy.|
|Kansas||10||Nonpayment of premium. Fraudulent misrepresentation.|
|Kentucky||75||Nonpayment of premium. Customer, their household members, or anyone who customarily drives their car has had their license suspended or revoked during the policy period, or if a renewal, during the policy period or 180 days immediately preceding the policy effective date.|
|Louisiana||180||Nonpayment of premium.|
|Maine||45||30||Nonpayment of premium. Fraud or material misrepresentation.|
|Maryland||10||Material misrepresentation or fraud in relation with the application, policy or claim. A matter or issue related to a risk that might endanger public safety.|
|Massachusetts||20||Customer's insurance company is electing to reduce its total number of policies.|
|Michigan||10||Nonpayment of premium. Customer, their household members, or anyone who customarily drives their car lost their license and the suspension or revocation is final.|
|Minnesota||60||10||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation or fraud. Customer did not fully disclose all car accidents and traffic violations for the preceding 36 months.|
|Mississippi||30||Nonpayment of premium. Failure to maintain membership in an organization when the policy is dependent on membership.|
|Missouri||30||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license has been revoked or suspended during the policy period.|
|Montana||10||Nonpayment of premium.|
|Nebraska||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation or fraud|
|Nevada||30||Nonpayment of premium. Fraud or material misrepresentation.|
|New Hampshire||45||10||Nonpayment of premium. Failure to sign the required New Hampshire residency form.|
|New Jersey||60||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation or nondisclosure of a fact that would increase the risk.|
|New Mexico||60||10||Nonpayment of premium. Misrepresentation, fraud or concealment of fact.|
|New York||45||Nonpayment of premium or an installment that was overdue, and any unpaid fees charged for installments, late payments or reinstatement.|
|North Carolina||60||15||Customer's specific insurance agent was terminated by the insurance company.|
|North Dakota||20||10||Nonpayment of premium. Fraud or material misrepresentation.|
|Ohio||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Misrepresentation, fraud or concealment of fact to the insurer.|
|Oklahoma||10||Customer's insurance company can cancel a policy for reasons relating to customer's credit information. Oklahoma law does not state other grounds for cancellation.|
|Oregon||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation or fraud. Suspension or revocation of customer's driver’s license.|
|Pennsylvania||30||Nonpayment of premium. Misrepresentation or concealment of facts that would be used by the insurer to determine risk.|
|Rhode Island||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license has been revoked or suspended. Customer violated the terms and conditions of the policy.|
|South Carolina||60||31||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license was suspended or revoked.|
|South Dakota||20||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license has been revoked or suspended. Customer failed to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program.|
|Tennessee||20||10||Customer altered their car in a way that can increase risk.|
|Texas||60||10||Customer or driver who lives with the customer or uses their vehicle frequently has their license suspended or revoked.|
|Utah||30||10||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation or fraud.|
|Vermont||45||15||Nonpayment of premium. Fraud or material misrepresentation affecting customer's policy or a claim made under the policy. Customer's driver’s license has been suspended or revoked.|
|Virginia||45||15||Customer's legal residence is revealed to be in another state.|
|Washington||20||10||Customer transfered ownership of their car to another person who is not their beneficiary.|
|West Virginia||30||14||Customer's license has been suspended for refusing a chemical test for intoxication.|
|Wisconsin||60||Nonpayment of premium. Material misrepresentation. Customer violated contractual duties, conditions or warranties.|
|Wyoming||45||Nonpayment of premium. Customer's driver’s license or vehicle registration has been revoked or suspended. Fraud when filling out the auto insurance application.|