Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder
Washington
$15.74
California
$15.50
Massachusetts
$15
New York
$14.20
New Jersey
$14.13
Connecticut
$14
Arizona
$13.85
Maine
$13.80
Colorado
$13.65
Oregon
$13.50
Maryland
$13.25
Vermont
$13.18
Illinois
$13
Rhode Island
$13
Hawaii
$12
Missouri
$12
New Mexico
$12
Virginia
$12
Delaware
$11.75
Arkansas
$11
Florida
$11
Alaska
$10.85
South Dakota
$10.80
Minnesota
$10.59
Nebraska
$10.50
Nevada
$10.50
Michigan
$10.10
Ohio
$10.10
Montana
$9.95
West Virginia
$8.75
Georgia
$7.25
Idaho
$7.25
Indiana
$7.25
Iowa
$7.25
Kansas
$7.25
Kentucky
$7.25
Louisiana
$7.25
Mississippi
$7.25
New Hampshire
$7.25
North Carolina
$7.25
North Dakota
$7.25
Oklahoma
$7.25
Pennsylvania
$7.25
Texas
$7.25
Utah
$7.25
Wisconsin
$7.25
Wyoming
$7.25

Labor Laws by State 2024

Labor Laws by State 2024

Labor Laws by State 2024

- States with no minimum wage displayed have no state minimum wage law and follow the Federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

State
Minimum Wage
Min Wage Notes
Represented By Unions (%)
Mandatory Paid Sick Leave
Annual Paid Sick Leave
Vacation Pay Taxable Wages
Washington$15.74
19.1Yes7 days (100+ employees), 5 days (25-99 employees), 3 days (1-24 employees)Not addressed by law
California$15.50
17.6Yes24 hours or 3 days per yearVacation time is earned as work is performed and is considered wages .
Massachusetts$15
13.8YesUp to 40 hours per yearPaid vacation time is considered wages Employers must compensate employees for earned vacation time
New York$14.20
$15.00 in Long Island, Westchester, & NYC
22.1Yes56 hours (100+ employees), 40 hours (5–99 employees), Up to 40 hours (4 or fewer employees and net income > $1 million, Unpaid (4 or fewer employees and net income up to $1 million.Not addressed by law
New Jersey$14.13
$12.93 for seasonal or < 6 employees
16YesUp to 40 hours per yearNot addressed by law
Connecticut$14
16.3YesMax 40 hours carry/use per year"Wages" do not include vacation time
Arizona$13.85
6.2Yes40 hours (15+ employees), 24 hours (1-14 employees)Not addressed by law
Maine$13.80
11.5YesUp to 40 hours per yearPaid vacation time will be treated as wages if the employee is entitled to the vacation pay
Colorado$13.65
7.5YesUp to 48 hours per year, 48 hours can be carried over each yearVacation pay policy may be established in writing or by custom and practice
Oregon$13.50
16.9YesUp to 40 hours per yearPaid vacation is considered wages
Maryland$13.25
13.2YesUp to 40 hours per yearNot addressed by law
Vermont$13.18
13.4YesUp to 40 hours per yearNot addressed by law
Illinois$13
14.1No"Final compensation" includes "the monetary equivalent of earned vacation"
Rhode Island$13
17.7YesUp to 40 hours per yearAccrued vacation time is considered wages after one year of completed service
Hawaii$12
23.4NoNot addressed by law
Missouri$12
10.6NoNot addressed by law
New Mexico$12
10.6Yes64 hours per 12-month periodNot addressed by law
Virginia$12
4.5NoNot addressed by law
Delaware$11.75
9.4NoNot addressed by law
Arkansas$11
5.7NoNo state lawNot addressed by law
Florida$11
5.6NoNot addressed by law
Alaska$10.85
17.2NoNot addressed by law
South Dakota$10.80
4.2NoNot addressed by law
Minnesota$10.59
$8.63 for small employers
15.2YesUp to 48 hours carry/use per yearPaid time off or vacation pay is considered "wages" for wage payment purposes
Nebraska$10.50
8.1NoPaid vacation is considered wages subject to the Nebraska Wage Payment and Collection
Nevada$10.50
$9.50 if business offers health insurance
12.8YesEmployer may limit to 40 hoursNot addressed by law
Michigan$10.10
15.3YesUp to 40 hours per yearVacation provided under a written contract or policy is considered a fringe benefit and not wages
Ohio$10.10
$7.25 if business' gross receipts < $372,000
14NoNot addressed by law
Montana$9.95
$4.00 for businesses w/ sales under $110,000
12.3NoAccrued and earned vacation time is similar to wages
West Virginia$8.75
10NoWages include holiday and vacation pay
Georgia$7.25
5.4NoNot addressed by law
Idaho$7.25
5.9NoNot addressed by law
Indiana$7.25
8.6NoPaid vacation is subject to the state's Wage Payment Statute
Iowa$7.25
8.7NoPaid vacation benefits are considered "wages"
Kansas$7.25
12.1NoNot addressed by law
Kentucky$7.25
10.3NoNot addressed by law
Louisiana$7.25
5.2NoTo be paid for unused accrued vacation time, an employee must be eligible to accept the vacation at discharge or resignation
Mississippi$7.25
7.2NoNot addressed by law
New Hampshire$7.25
11.2NoVacation pay and other fringe benefits are considered wages
North Carolina$7.25
3.9NoNot addressed by law
North Dakota$7.25
7.6NoPaid time off is considered wages
Oklahoma$7.25
7.1NoVacation pay is considered wages under Oklahoma law
Pennsylvania$7.25
13.6NoFringe benefits, such as vacation pay, are considered wages
Texas$7.25
5.1NoNot addressed by law
Utah$7.25
8.7NoNot addressed by law
Wisconsin$7.25
8NoWages include holiday and vacation pay
Wyoming$7.25
7.3NoNot addressed by law
showing: 47 rows

Labor Laws by State 2024

Sources