Mountain Time Zone States 2022


The state of Arizona is the sixth largest state in the United States. It is also the most populous of the Mountain Time Zone states. An estimated 7,000,000 people live there.


Oregon is located mostly in the Pacific Time Zone. A small part is in the Mountain Standard Time Zone states. Oregon is located in the Pacific Northwest.


Colorado is the 8th largest state by area. It is the 21st most populous state. The largest city is Denver.


1.8 million people live in Idaho. Its capital city is Boise. Idaho has one of the lowest total populations out of all 50 states (43rd).


The state of Kansas is partially in the Central Time Zone and partially in the Mountain Time Zone. Kansas is an agricultural state. The primary agricultural goods produced in Kansas are wheat, sunflowers, and sorghum.


Montana is the fourth largest state in the United States. Montana has approximately 1,085,000 people within its borders. The state capital is Helena.


Nebraska is the 37th most populous state in the United States. The largest city is Omaha. Nebraska is an agricultural state known for its wheat and corn production.

New Mexico

New Mexico is primarily composed of mountains and deserts. Its capital is Santa Fe, and its largest city is Albuquerque. New Mexico has a southern international border with Mexico.

North Dakota

North Dakota has a population of about 775,000. It's known for its agriculture, as it's a center of corn and wheat production. North Dakota is also known for its oil drilling.

South Dakota

South Dakota is the 46th most populous state. It has a population of nearly 900,000. It is the 17th most extensive of the 50 states. The capital is Pierre. Sioux Falls is the largest city.


A small part of far western Texas is in the Mountain Time Zone. This area includes Hudspeth and El Paso counties. Texas is the second largest state in the U.S. It covers about 268,820 square miles.


Utah is the 45th state in the United States of America. The capital city of Utah is Salt Lake City. The largest city in Utah is also Salt Lake City.


Wyoming is the 10th largest state in the United States, covering an area of 97,914 square miles. Its capital city is Cheyenne. Wyoming was admitted to the Union on July 10, 1890, as the 44th state to join. It has an estimated population of 600,000.

Mountain Time Zone States 2022