State License Plate Laws 2022
State license plate laws for 2022 center around the issue of whether or not a vehicle needs to have a front license plate. Some people with sports cars or luxury vehicles prefer not to have a front license plate, as it can compromise the look and front structure of the car. Owners of classic cars also struggle with the front plate laws, as it can be impossible to put one on. Most states do require it though. In 2022, state license plate laws existed for 30 states.
The 30 states with state license plate laws are:
-Alaska -California -Colorado -Connecticut -Hawaii -Idaho -Illinois -Iowa -Maine -Maryland -Massachusetts -Minnesota -Nebraska -Nevada -New Hampshire -New Jersey -New York -North Dakota -Oregon -Rhode Island -South Dakota -Texas -Utah -Vermont -Virginia -Washington -Wisconsin -Wyoming
States That Do Not Have a Front License Plate Law
There are 20 states that do not have a front license plate law. They are as follows:
-Alabama -Arizona -Arkansas -Delaware -Florida -Georgia -Indiana -Kansas -Kentucky -Louisiana -Michigan -Mississippi -New Mexico -North Carolina -Ohio -Oklahoma -Pennsylvania -South Carolina -Tennessee -West Virginia
Penalties for Driving Without a Front License Plate
In states where front plates are required, there are penalties if found driving without one. A ticket is the most common penalty for driving without a front license plate. Sometimes, the driver may get a verbal warning to remedy the problem right away if they have a good driving record. Fines for driving without a front license plate typically range between $100 and $200.
Some states also offer what is called a fix-it ticket. That means that if a driver verifies the plate when it is put on, typically with your local police department, the driver can have the ticket canceled. This is an ideal solution, as your ticket will not have an impact on your driving record.
Additionally, where you are parked if the citation occurs when parked could matter. A vehicle parked incorrectly or on the street could incur additional municipal fines that can start at $10 or $25.
The kind of car that is being driven is never a defense to avoiding front plate license laws. Many car owners will argue that the front license plate will prevent optimum performance of the vehicle, but it will not matter in this case. These car owners are best served by a mechanic or professional car modifier that can put the plate on for them so that they can comply with the law.