map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Countries with Royal Families 2024

The term "royal family" refers to the immediate family of a monarch (usually a king or queen) who leads a nation in a monarchy government. Monarchy countries have royal families. Traditionally, the royal family includes the ruling monarch, their spouse, their children and grandchildren, any still-living parents, their siblings, and their paternal cousins. Spouses of all immediate family members are also included in the royal family. In addition, aunts, uncles, great-grandchildren (as Britain's Queen Elizabeth II now has), and other descendants may also be considered part of the royal family.

Royal families of the world

Not every monarchy in the world has a royal family, but most do. For example, 10 of Europe's 12 manarchy countries are led by a royal family. This includes well-known royal families such as the Windsors in the United Kingdom and the Grimaldis in Monaco. However, monarchies in Africa and Asia also have notable royal families, many of whom have captivating stories. For example, Japan's current Emperor Emeritus Akihito broke 2,600 years of tradition in 1959 by marrying his beloved, a commoner named Michiko Shōda, instead of choosing an aristocratic bride from the approved social group. More recently, his granddaughter Princess Mako followed his example and gave up her royal status completely so she could marry the man she loved. Another royal family worthy of mention is Bhutan's photogenic Wangchuck family: King Jihme Singye, Queen Jetsun Pema, and the young princes Jigme Namgyel and Jigme Ugyen, who frequently charm the internet at large via annual calendar appearances and the queen's Instagram account.

List of current royal families in Europe:

  • The House of Saxe-Coburg and Gothas - Belgium (King Philippe)
  • The House of Schleswig-Holstein-Sonderburg-Glücksburg - Denmark (Queen Margrethe II)
  • The House of Liechtenstein - Liechtenstein (Prince Hans-Adam II)
  • The House of Luxembourg-Nassau - Luxembourg (Grand Duke Henri)
  • The House of Grimaldi - Monaco (Prince Albert II)
  • The House of Orange-Nassau - Netherlands (King Willem-Alexander)
  • The House of Schleswig-Holstein-Sonderburg-Glücksburg - Norway - (King Harald V)
  • The House of Borbón-Anjou - Spain (King Felipe VI)
  • The House of Bernadotte - Sweden (King Carl XVI Gustaf)
  • The House of Windsor - United Kingdom (King Charles III)

Which royal family rules over the largest kingdom?

It's a little-known fact in many countries that The Windsor family, arguably the most well-known royal family globally, is the ruling family of far more than just the United Kingdom. In fact, the British monarch technically also presides over 15 other countries spread all over the world, including Canada, the Bahamas, and Australia. These countries were all subjected to British rule at one point or another in their history, and although all are now independent sovereign nations, they still maintain at least a ceremonial connection to the British monarchy.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Current Monarch
Royal Family
OmanSultan Haitham bin TariqAl Said
MonacoSovereign Prince Albert IIGrimaldi
DenmarkQueen Margrethe IIGlücksburg
NetherlandsKing Willem-AlexanderOrange-Nassau
ThailandKing VajiralongkornChakri
TongaKing Tupou VITupou
Saudi ArabiaKing Salman bin AbdulazizAl Saud
BelgiumKing PhilippeSaxe-Coburg and Gotha
CambodiaKing Norodom SihamoniNorodom
EswatiniKing Mswati IIIDlamini
MoroccoKing Mohammed VIAlawi
LesothoKing Letsie IIIMoshesh
BhutanKing Jigme Khesar NamgyelWangchuck
NorwayKing Harald VGlücksburg
BahrainKing Hamad bin IsaAl Khalifa
SpainKing Felipe VIBorbón-Anjou
United KingdomKing Charles IIIWindsor
CanadaKing Charles IIIWindsor
AustraliaKing Charles IIIWindsor
Papua New GuineaKing Charles IIIWindsor
New ZealandKing Charles IIIWindsor
JamaicaKing Charles IIIWindsor
Solomon IslandsKing Charles IIIWindsor
BelizeKing Charles IIIWindsor
BahamasKing Charles IIIWindsor
Saint LuciaKing Charles IIIWindsor
GrenadaKing Charles IIIWindsor
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesKing Charles IIIWindsor
Antigua and BarbudaKing Charles IIIWindsor
Saint Kitts and NevisKing Charles IIIWindsor
TuvaluKing Charles IIIWindsor
SwedenKing Carl XVI GustafBernadotte
MalaysiaKing Abdullah Sultan Ahmad ShahBendahara
JordanKing Abdullah IIHāshim
BruneiHassanal BolkiahBolkiah
LiechtensteinHans-Adam IILiechtenstein
LuxembourgGrand Duke HenriLuxembourg-Nassau
JapanEmperor NaruhitoYamato
QatarEmir Tamim bin HamadAl Thani
KuwaitEmir Nawaf Al-AhmadAl Sabah
United Arab EmiratesAl NahyanMohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan
showing: 41 rows

How many countries still have royal families?

Twenty-six countries in the world are monarchies, meaning all of these countries have royal families.

Which countries have royal families?

The following countries have royal families: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Cambodia, Canada, Denmark, Eswatini, Grenada, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, the Solomon Islands, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and Vatican City.

Frequently Asked Questions