Monarchy Countries 2021

map placeholder

A monarchy is a form of government in which one ruler oversees the success, events, and decisions of a given nation. The definition that Merriam-Webster provides for a monarchy is broken down into three separate definitions, including...

  • The "undivided rule or absolute sovereignty" of a place under the name of one individual
  • An official region, country, state, territory, or anything of the like known for "having a monarchical government."
  • A government in which there is "a hereditary chief of state with life tenure and powers varying from nominal to absolute."

Essentially, in short, monarchies are systems of government that entail there is one leader, which is easy to remember if you keep in mind that mono means one. There is always one ruler who is at the very top of the governing pyramid if you will.

Though the most common way of choosing who will lead a nation is through an election that the country's people take part in, elections are not the only method of picking a monarch. Some countries have monarchies that stay within one family's name, so the only way to become the monarch of the said nation is if you are part of the family and inherit the position at some point in your life.

With inherited monarchies, the person who is the monarch remains the monarch until they pass away. In rare instances, the monarchy is passed onto someone else in the family's lineage if the reigning monarch has gone against rules that they had to follow as a monarch, but again, this outcome is rare. It is most common for a monarchy to change rulers when the most recent monarch has passed away.

The monarchy that the majority of people are most familiar with is that of the United Kingdom. As the reigning ruler of the UK of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Queen Elizabeth II is a prime example of a monarch who became the United Kingdom's monarch after being born into the royal family. In theory, the next person to take the throne would be her children, and she just so happens to be the mother of three sons. Her children are Prince Andrew, the Duke of York; Prince Charles, the Prince of Wales; and Prince Edward, the Earl of Wessex.

Within the category of monarchies worldwide, there are three major routes that the monarchies tend to go in, including:

  • Crowned Republic Monarchies
  • Constitutional Monarchies
  • Absolute Monarchies

These three types of monarchies are the only types of monarchies that exist, but there are other categorizing monarchies. The five major categories of these various types of monarchies are:

  • The Commonwealth Realms
  • The European Constitutional Monarchies
  • The European Mixed Monarchies
  • The Muslim Monarchies
  • The East and Southeast Asian Constitutional Monarchies

A crowned republic monarchy relates to the foundation we just touched on where a ruling family continues to control the nation. A constitutional monarch operates under the guidance of a constitution, which restricts the monarch from making decisions independently. Constitutional monarchies are often combined with some type of representative democracy. Absolute monarchies are government systems in which the monarch has absolute authority and control over the monarchy, and there are little to no restrictions placed upon the ruler.

While there are five categories of monarchies around the world, these categories are still not inclusive enough for every country to comfortably fall into one of the five categories. These countries include:

The countries around the world that are noted as having monarchies as their systems of government include:

The titles that are attributed to the leader of monarchies varies from one monarchy to the next. Of the current monarchies around the world, there are five different titles given to head leaders of these governments:

  • King
  • Minister of State
  • President of the Pontifical Commission
  • Prime Minister
  • Sultan

Below is the breakdown of all forty-four monarchies in the world, organized by the title that each head of government is called by.

King or Queen

  • The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Minister of State

  • The Principality of Monaco

President of the Pontifical Commission

  • The Vatican City State

Prime Minister

  • The Principality of Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • The Commonwealth of Australia
  • The Commonwealth of the Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • The Kingdom of Bahrain
  • The Kingdom of Belgium
  • Belize
  • The Kingdom of Bhutan
  • The Kingdom of Cambodia
  • Canada
  • The Kingdom of Denmark
  • The Kingdom of Eswatini
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • The State of Kuwait
  • The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • The Kingdom of Lesotho
  • The Principality of Liechtenstein
  • The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • The Kingdom of Morocco
  • The Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • The Kingdom of Norway
  • The Independent State of Papua New Guinea
  • The Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • The Solomon Islands
  • The Kingdom of Spain
  • The Kingdom of Sweden
  • The State of Qatar
  • The Kingdom of Thailand
  • The Kingdom of Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island


  • Brunei Darussalam
  • The Sultanate of Oman

Monarchy Countries 2021

Monarchy Countries 2021