map placeholder
Federal States

1 - Always

2 - Usually

3 - Sometimes

4 - Rarely

5 - Quasi-Federalist

Click on a country for details.

Federal States 2024


India is a large country that is a federal state. In total, India has 28 different states, including Punjab, Bihar, Assam, and Kerala. There are also eight union territories within India. The union territories include Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh Lakshadweep, and Puducherry.


In total, Brazil has 26 different states throughout the country, which creates a unified Brazil. Some larger states include Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo. In addition, Brazil's states also include Roraima, Piaui, Goias, and Paraiba. There is one federal district, Distrito Federal, to organize and rule the conglomerate of states in Brazil.


Russia is a large country that has multiple size federal states that help create a unified country. The largest state demarcation is the Oblasts, which include Amur, Omsk, Saratov, and Kirov. In total, there are 46 different Oblasts. At the next level, there are 22 other Republics. Further down, there are nine Krais, followed by four autonomous Okrugs. There are three federal cities, including Moscow, Saint Petersburg, and Sevastopol, located in Crimea. Russia also has one autonomous Oblast.


United Germany is made of 16 smaller states throughout the country. The states help denote the various territories, and many of the states follow ancient land demarcations. Some of the largest and most populous German states include Berlin, Bavaria, Hamburg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Lower Saxony, and Saxony.


Like Germany, Switzerland is made of several smaller states that work together to create a larger country. Switzerland in total has 26 different Cantons. The largest and most populous Cantons include Bern, Geneva, Lucerne, Vaud, and Zurich. Switzerland's Cantons are largely divided by ancient family lines marked by ruling class nobles. Many of the former lines have turned into modern-day political lines that help to divide the country.


Australia is a vast country that is made of six different political states. The Australian states include New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia. In total, Australia has three different internal territories and seven external territories.


Thirty-six different states in Nigeria help to create a unified country in Africa. Some states within the country include Abia, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Imo, Kano, Lagos, and Osun. There is also one territory in Nigeria, called the Federal Capital Territory, where the administrative seats reside to help run the unified country. The Federal Capital Territory was created by pulling land from the three bordering states.

United States

The United States is made of 50 different states that work together to create a larger country. Some of the most populous states in the United States include New York, Texas, California, Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Florida. The United States also has a federal district, called the District of Columbia, which houses the administrative seats. There are 13 unincorporated territories, including Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa. There is one incorporated territory called Palmyra Atoll.

  • Government are complex systems that can often fit multiple categories. As such, precisely which countries should be classified as federal is a matter of some debate among political scholars.
  • The results displayed were compiled from several sources and display the likelihood of a given country being classified as federal.
  • Every source = 1 - Always
  • 70-99% of sources = 2 - Usually
  • 30-69% = 3 - Sometimes
  • 10-29% = 4 - Rarely
  • Countries which the majority of sources classified as Quasi-Federalist were placed in the category 5 - Quasi-Federalist

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Federal States
Philippines5 - Quasi-Federalist
France5 - Quasi-Federalist
South Africa5 - Quasi-Federalist
Italy5 - Quasi-Federalist
Spain5 - Quasi-Federalist
Chile5 - Quasi-Federalist
Cyprus4 - Rarely
Sudan3 - Sometimes
Iraq3 - Sometimes
Somalia3 - Sometimes
South Sudan3 - Sometimes
Switzerland3 - Sometimes
Comoros3 - Sometimes
Micronesia3 - Sometimes
Saint Kitts and Nevis3 - Sometimes
Mexico2 - Usually
Nepal2 - Usually
Venezuela2 - Usually
Austria2 - Usually
Bosnia and Herzegovina2 - Usually
India1 - Always
United States1 - Always
Pakistan1 - Always
Nigeria1 - Always
Brazil1 - Always
Russia1 - Always
Ethiopia1 - Always
Germany1 - Always
Argentina1 - Always
Canada1 - Always
Malaysia1 - Always
Australia1 - Always
Belgium1 - Always
United Arab Emirates1 - Always
showing: 34 rows