Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder
Missouri
$300
Connecticut
$250
Delaware
$250
District of Columbia
$250
Hawaii
$250
Kentucky
$250
New Hampshire
$250
North Carolina
$250
Alabama
$200
Colorado
$200
Georgia
$200
Michigan
$200
Florida
$195
Idaho
$195
Indiana
$195
Iowa
$195
Kansas
$195
Texas
$175
Alaska
$150
Arizona
$150
Arkansas
$150
California
$150
Maryland
$150
Massachusetts
$150
Minnesota
$150
Mississippi
$150
Montana
$150
Nebraska
$150
Nevada
$150
New Mexico
$150
North Dakota
$150
Oklahoma
$150
Oregon
$150
Pennsylvania
$150
Rhode Island
$150
South Carolina
$150
South Dakota
$150
Tennessee
$150
Utah
$150
Vermont
$150
Virginia
$120
New York
$100
Washington
$100
West Virginia
$100
Wisconsin
$100
Wyoming
$100
Ohio
$95
New Jersey
$90
Illinois
$80

Average Attorney Fees by State 2024

Average Attorney Fees by State 2024

Although no one wants to be in a situation where they have to consult an attorney, they are more often than not well worth the expense. From filing a claim to getting the proper and professional defense and protection you need, legal counsel is also often a necessary step.

Although attorney fees vary from state to state and according to the type of defense you need (typically a criminal defense attorney will cost more than a family law lawyer), the popularity of the attorney (well-known lawyers usually cost more), these fees do vary from state to state, based on the cost of living in each state.

On average, attorney fees range from $100 per hour to $500 per hour, but if you hire a leading criminal attorney in D.C. (which is ranked the highest average at nearly $400 per hour in 2020) you’re going to most likely pay more than if you hire an estate or family lawyer in a more rural place like Illinois or Alaska, which typically costs $100-$150 per hour.

Sometimes an attorney will charge a specific fee for a service (such as will) or will require a retainer fee, which is sometimes a guarantee that the attorney will take your case or be available on an “as-needed” basis. An attorney may also charge a contingency fee. In this case, the attorney will be paid “contingent upon” your recovery, which is usually based upon a percentage of your recovery. On average, the attorney takes ⅓ or 33% of your recovery.

Average Attorney Fees by State 2024

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

State
Attorney Fees (High Avg.)
Attorney Fees (Low Avg.)
Illinois$550$80
Texas$495$175
New Jersey$450$90
Pennsylvania$450$150
Virginia$450$120
California$420$150
Connecticut$400$250
Delaware$400$250
District of Columbia$400$250
Florida$400$195
Hawaii$400$250
Idaho$400$195
New York$400$100
Georgia$350$200
Kansas$350$195
Kentucky$350$250
Massachusetts$350$150
Michigan$350$200
Minnesota$350$150
Missouri$350$300
Montana$350$150
Nebraska$350$150
Nevada$350$150
New Hampshire$350$250
New Mexico$350$150
North Dakota$350$150
Oklahoma$350$150
Oregon$350$150
Rhode Island$350$150
South Carolina$350$150
South Dakota$350$150
Vermont$350$150
Alabama$300$200
Alaska$300$150
Arizona$300$150
Arkansas$300$150
Indiana$300$195
Iowa$300$195
Maryland$300$150
Mississippi$300$150
North Carolina$300$250
Ohio$300$95
Washington$300$100
West Virginia$300$100
Wisconsin$300$100
Wyoming$300$100
Colorado$295$200
Tennessee$285$150
Utah$275$150
United States$353$167
showing: 49 rows

Average Attorney Fees by State 2024

Sources