Map Options

Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder
DST observed

States without Daylight Savings 2024

States without Daylight Savings 2024

“Spring Forward, Fall Back.” If you’ve ever heard this saying, then you probably live in an area that observes daylight saving time. During daylight saving time in the United States, residents set their clocks ahead by one hour. This results in mornings with less sunlight and more sunlight during the evenings.

Daylight saving time begins on the second Sunday in March. When it ends on the first Sunday in November, clocks are set back an hour. Clocks are always set forward or backward at 2:00 AM local time.

Most states in the United States observe daylight saving time, although many people have argued against its usefulness and advocate for a year-round daylight saving time without having to set clocks forward or back. As of mid-2019, however, no changes have been made, and the majority of the U.S. states continue to observe daylight saving time. Uniform daylight saving time was established under the Uniform Time Act of 1966.

There are, however, a handful of exceptions. In Arizona, daylight saving time was observed in 1967. However, an exemption statute was enacted the following year, and ever since 1968, this state has not observed daylight saving time. However, the Navajo Indian Reservation, located in the states of Arizona, Utah, and New Mexico, observes daylight saving time.

The state of Hawaii opted out of daylight saving time under the Uniform Time Act, so this state has never observed daylight savings. Due to Hawaii’s location, there are fewer variations between winter and summer daylight hours, so it makes sense to not have daylight saving time in this state.

Hawaii and Arizona are the only two states in the U.S. that do not observe daylight saving time. However, several overseas territories do not observe daylight saving time. Those territories include American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

While the Uniform Time Act does not allow states to permanently adopt daylight savings time, there is hope that these federal rules will change. In case this change is passed federally, nineteen states have passed legislation so daylight savings time would be permanent in their states. California is attempting to be the twentieth state to do so, but legislation is still pending as of 2023.

States without Daylight Savings 2024

- 48 of the 50 states currently follow Daylight Savings Time, which is regulated by the federal Uniform Time Act (UTA).
- The UTA permits states to permanently adopt standard time and discard Daylight Savings Time (and the twice-yearly clock switching between the two).
- As of 2023, only Hawaii and Arizona have chosen to permanently adopt standard time.
- The UTA does not permit states to permanently adopt Daylight Savings Time.
- Nevertheless, more than a dozen states have passed laws confirming that if the federal rules changed to allow it, the state would permanently adopt Daylight Savings Time and no longer alternate between DST and standard time.
- California's DST opt-in was approved by voters in 2018, but is tied up in legislative proceedings as of 2023.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

No Daylight Savings Time
Permanent Opt-In
AlabamaDST observedYes
AlaskaDST observed
ArizonaNo DST
ArkansasDST observed
CaliforniaDST observedPending
ColoradoDST observedYes
ConnecticutDST observed
DelawareDST observedYes
District of ColumbiaDST observed
FloridaDST observedYes
GeorgiaDST observedYes
HawaiiNo DST
IdahoDST observedYes
IllinoisDST observed
IndianaDST observed
IowaDST observed
KansasDST observed
KentuckyDST observedYes
LouisianaDST observedYes
MaineDST observedYes
MarylandDST observed
MassachusettsDST observed
MichiganDST observed
MinnesotaDST observedYes
MississippiDST observedYes
MissouriDST observed
MontanaDST observedYes
NebraskaDST observed
NevadaDST observed
New HampshireDST observed
New JerseyDST observed
New MexicoDST observed
New YorkDST observed
North CarolinaDST observed
North DakotaDST observed
OhioDST observedYes
OklahomaDST observed
OregonDST observedYes
PennsylvaniaDST observed
Rhode IslandDST observed
South CarolinaDST observedYes
South DakotaDST observed
TennesseeDST observedYes
TexasDST observed
UtahDST observedYes
VermontDST observed
VirginiaDST observed
WashingtonDST observedYes
West VirginiaDST observed
WisconsinDST observed
WyomingDST observedYes
showing: 51 rows

States without Daylight Savings 2024