Map Options

Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder
No Active Legislation
Under consideration

Death with Dignity States 2024

Death with Dignity States 2024

Physician-assisted suicide is a controversial topic in the United States. Some people believe that a terminally ill person should have the right to end their life if they choose without government interference or religious beliefs coming into play. This is also referred to as the "right to die.".

Death with Dignity Laws

In some U.S. states, the government agrees with this and has implemented death with dignity laws. There are safeguards in place that go along with these laws to prevent misuse. For example, two physicians must confirm the patient’s diagnosis and prognosis. Waiting periods are also required before the prescription will be filled. Perhaps most importantly, the decision falls on the patient, and doctors must confirm the mental competency before moving forward with administering the medication.

In the United States, states that have death with dignity laws make it legal for adults with terminal illnesses to receive prescription medication that assists in their death. This is also known as physician-assisted suicide. Even states that have legalized this form of death have several conditions that patients must meet.

Physician-assisted suicide is only allowed for mentally competent adults who have been given six months or less to live because of terminal illnesses. In other words, death must be inevitable for a person to receive the medication that ends the patient’s pain and suffering. This has been a hotly debated topic across the nation. Some believe that it’s a person’s right to choose, and the government shouldn’t have a say in how someone ends their own life. On the flip-side, some religious leaders advocate against death with dignity laws, believing that suicide is a sin.

The majority of the states in the U.S. have made physician-assisted suicide illegal. Eight states and Washington, D.C., have passed death with dignity laws. Many of these laws have been passed only within the last couple of years. The states that have death with dignity laws are California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maine, New Jersey, Oregon, Vermont, and Washington.

Oregon was the first state in the U.S. to pass death with dignity laws through the Death With Dignity Act of 1994 and 1997.

The next laws weren’t passed until over ten years later, under Washington’s Death With Dignity Act of 2008.

In Vermont, physician-assisted suicide was legalized under the Patient Choice and Control at the End of Life Act, passed in 2013.

In 2015, California passed the End of Life Option Act, although the laws didn’t go into effect until the next year.

In 2016, Colorado and the District of Columbia passed laws – the End of Life Options Act and the D.C. Death with Dignity Act, respectively. The most recent laws were passed in 2018 and 2019.

Hawaii passed its Our Care, Our Choice Act in 2018 and 2019, Maine passed its Death with Dignity Act in 2019, and New Jersey passed the Aid in Dying for the Terminally Ill Act in 2019.

Death with Dignity States 2024

- New Jersey's current activity regarding death with dignity can be confusing. Death with dignity has been legal in New Jersey since 2019. However, a bill waiving the 15-day waiting period was under consideration as of 2023, which has led some sources to mistakenly indicate the entire law is under revision.

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Death with Dignity Status
MassachusettsUnder consideration
New YorkUnder consideration
North CarolinaUnder consideration
PennsylvaniaUnder consideration
AlabamaNo Active Legislation
AlaskaNo Active Legislation
ArizonaNo Active Legislation
ArkansasNo Active Legislation
ConnecticutNo Active Legislation
DelawareNo Active Legislation
FloridaNo Active Legislation
GeorgiaNo Active Legislation
IdahoNo Active Legislation
IllinoisNo Active Legislation
IndianaNo Active Legislation
IowaNo Active Legislation
KansasNo Active Legislation
KentuckyNo Active Legislation
LouisianaNo Active Legislation
MarylandNo Active Legislation
MichiganNo Active Legislation
MinnesotaNo Active Legislation
MississippiNo Active Legislation
MissouriNo Active Legislation
NebraskaNo Active Legislation
NevadaNo Active Legislation
New HampshireNo Active Legislation
North DakotaNo Active Legislation
OhioNo Active Legislation
OklahomaNo Active Legislation
Rhode IslandNo Active Legislation
South CarolinaNo Active Legislation
South DakotaNo Active Legislation
TennesseeNo Active Legislation
TexasNo Active Legislation
UtahNo Active Legislation
VirginiaNo Active Legislation
West VirginiaNo Active Legislation
WisconsinNo Active Legislation
WyomingNo Active Legislation
District of ColumbiaLegal
New JerseyLegal
New MexicoLegal
showing: 51 rows

Death with Dignity States 2024