map placeholder
Hover overClick on a tile for details.

E-ZPass States 2022

E-ZPass is an electronic toll collection system used on most tolled roads, bridges, and tunnels in the Midwestern and Eastern United States created in 1987. E-ZPass tags are active RFID transponders that respond to toll transmitters, whether lane-based or open-road, by transmitting a unique radio signal. Both internal tags (placed on the inside of the windshield) and external tags (designed to attach to a front license plate) are available for customers and can be used for motorcycles. E-ZPass customers can either merge into manual toll lanes or dedicated E-ZPass lanes, typically named "Express E-ZPass." These are physically separate from toll booths and do not require drivers to slow down. E-ZPass is usually offered as a debit account, where users make prepayments on their accounts, and tolls are deducted from that amount. Additionally, some agencies charge a monthly account fee, usually of only $1 or $1.50. Additionally, E-ZPass users may have other costs and fees to pay for their transponder or account.

E-ZPass States

The E-ZPass Interagency Group consists of 39 member agencies in 17 different states. Since the founding of E-ZPass, several other independent systems using the same technology have been folded into the E-ZPass System, such as I-Pass in Illinois and the NC Quick Pass in North Carolina. The 17 states that use E-ZPass are: Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia.

In addition to road tolls, some airports, such as JFK and LaGuardia in New York, and other parking lots allow customers to use their E-ZPass tag to pay for parking. Some toll facilities are not part of the E-ZPass network and do not accept E-ZPass even if they are in one of the 17 states with E-ZPass.

E-ZPass States 2022


There are 17 EZ-Pass states.

E-ZPass States 2022