Lunch Break Laws by State 2022

Feeling hungry? Is it lunch time? Here is a quick peek at how different states are alloting breaks according to lunch break laws by state based on data from the Department of Labor.

California

½ hour for more than 5 hours per day, except for workdays completed in 6 hours or less

Colorado

½ hour for more than 5 hours per day.

Connecticut

½ hour is granted for any employee working 7½ consecutive hours. A break is to be taken after the first 2 hours and before the last 2 hours of the shift.

Delaware

½ hour is granted for any employee working 7½ consecutive hours. A break is to be taken after the first 2 hours and before the last 2 hours of the shift.

Illinois

Minimum 20 minutes permitted for any employee working 7½ consecutive hours. A break must be taken within the first 5 hours of the start of the work shift.

Kentucky

Generally, ½ hour breaks are permitted. Breaks should be taken between after the 3rd and before the 5th hours of the shift

Maine

30 minutes is permitted following 6 consecutive hours of work.

Maryland

30 minutes is permitted for any shift of more than 6 consecutive hours.

Massachusetts

30 minutes is permitted for any shift of more than 6 consecutive hours.

Minnesota

"Sufficient unpaid time " permitted for employees scheduled to work 8 consecutive hours.

Nebraska

½ hour is granted for any employee working an 8 hour shift

Nevada

½ hour is granted for any employee working 7½ consecutive hours.

New Hampshire

½ hour is granted for any shift of 5 consecutive hours.

New York

1 hour noon-day period (factory mandated ordinance)

45 minutes granted in other establishments during the middle of the shift.

North Dakota

½ hour is granted for any shift of 5 consecutive hours.

Oregon

½ hour is granted for a 6 to 8 hour shift. A break should be taken between the 2nd and 5th hours of the shift.

Rhode Island

20 minutes are granted for a six-hour shift. 30 minutes is permitted for any shift of 8 hours or more.

Tennessee

½ hour is granted for any shift of 6 hours or more.

Vermont

The state of Vermont has no definitive guidelines other than instructing employers to offer "reasonable opportunities" to take a lunch break.

Washington

½ hour is granted for any shift of 5 consecutive hours or more

West Virginia

20 minutes are given to any employee working 6 hours or more.

Yes, what your lunch break looks like and how long it is, will be determined by the state you live in and your employer. The good news is that every state has some guidelines, meaning at least our bosses won't let us starve at work. So go enjoy your lunch - and the quickest 30 minutes of your workday.

Lunch Break Laws by State 2022