Map Options

Color Scheme:
Map Type:
Download SVG:
map placeholder

Marriage Friendly States 2024

Marriage Friendly States 2024


Idaho can usually be found at the top of many lists when it comes to lax marriage rules. Obtaining a marriage license in Idaho is much easier, and has no waiting period. Most states require a minimum of a 24-hour waiting period after obtaining the license to officially have a ceremony and sign documents to be officially considered in matrimony with one another. Marriage licenses in this state also have no expiration date, whereas most other states declare that you must get married within a certain amount of time after obtaining the license, usually up to 90 days. This means that couples can plan their wedding years while already having a marriage license.

One of the biggest advantages that Idaho has over the other states is that a witness is not necessary. This means that if you and your loved one are planning to elope, you only need to decide this together, without the burden of having to bring someone to observe your ceremony if you so choose. Finally, marriage in Idaho is possible for everyone in the United States, meaning you do not have to be a resident of the state to get a marriage license.


Georgia is a very relaxed state in terms of rules for obtaining a marriage license, but slightly more stringent on these regulations than Idaho. There are no waiting periods for the marriage license, and there are no expiration dates - but there is a stipulation. After you have performed your ceremony, religious or otherwise, the signed permit must be sent into the registry within 30 days. Much like in Idaho, there is no need to be a resident of Georgia to get married to one another, but it does bring advantages if you are considered a resident of this state.

For example, if one person resides permanently in Georgia, they can receive a permit from any county within the state. Only one person is required to be Georgian for this to be held. If both parties are not from Georgia, they must obtain the license in the county of their wedding venue beforehand.


Of course, there is no list for quick marriages that do not include Nevada, and more specifically, Las Vegas. Vegas is an extremely popular place for elopement, which has been further glamorized by Hollywood and populated culture. Although it may come as a shock that it is not always ranked very highly on the list. Vegas may have many things, including impersonators and amazing venues. Marriage licenses have no waiting periods, but the application does have an expiry date of 12 months. You must also apply for the permit within 90 days of having the ceremony. The application, however, is quick and easy - and you have much more access to information.

The waiting period and insistence on the date of filing don't make Nevada the quickest state to get married in, but it does make it the most accessible within Las Vegas.

Marriage Friendly States 2024

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

Waiting Period
License Expiration
License Issuer
Notes and Laws
AlabamaN/AN/AN/ANo license required, but must submit marriage certificate to probate court within 30 days after signing. Get forms from county health departments (in person or online). Ala Code § 30-1-9.1 (2022)
Alaska3 days3 monthsAlaska State Vital Records Section or county court clerkWaiting period may be waived if it would cause undue hardship. Alaska Stat. §§ 25.05.091, 25.05.111, 25.05.121 (2022)
ArizonaNone1 yearAny county clerkMay apply at some city/town clerks or justice of peace offices. Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-121, 25-126, 25-127 (2022)
ArkansasNone60 daysAny court clerk5-day waiting period for 17-year-olds. Ark. Code §§ 9-11-203, 9-11-218 (2022)
CaliforniaNone90 daysAny county clerk or recorder's officeCal. Fam. Code §§ 350–360 (2022)
ColoradoNone30 daysAny county clerk or recorder's officeColo. Rev. Stat. §§ 14-2-106, 14-2-107 (2022)
ConnecticutNone65 daysVital Records OfficeMust apply for license in town where ceremony will take place. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-24 (2022)
Delaware24 hours30 daysCounty clerk (Marriage Bureau)Waiting or expiration period may be waived for good reason. Del. Code tit. 13, §§ 107, 109 (2022)
District of ColumbiaNoneNo expirationCourt clerk (Marriage Bureau)D.C. Code § 46-410 (2022)
Florida3 days60 daysAny circuit court clerkNo waiting period with completion of premarital course, for nonresidents, or in case of hardship. Fla. Stat. §§ 741.04, 741.041 (2022)
GeorgiaNoneNo expirationProbate courtGeorgia residents may apply for license in any county, but nonresidents must apply in county where wedding will take place. Ga. Code §§ 19-3-10. 10-3-33, 19-3-35 (2022)
HawaiiNone30 daysState Health DepartmentHaw. Rev. Stat. §§ 572-5, 572-6 (2022)
IdahoNoneNo expirationAny county recorderIdaho Code § 32-403 (2022)
Illinois1 day60 daysLocal county clerkMust apply in county where wedding will take place. 750 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/203, 5/207 (2022)
IndianaNone60 daysCounty clerkIndiana residents apply in county where one of applicants lives; out-of-state residents apply where wedding will take place. Ind. Code §§ 31-11-4-3, 31-11-4-10 (2022)
Iowa3 days6 monthsRegistrar of Vital Statistics in any countyWaiting period may be waived in emergency or extraordinary circumstances. Iowa Code § 595.4 (2022)
Kansas3 days6 monthsAny district court clerkMinimum waiting period may be waived in emergency or extraordinary circumstances, but application processing may take 2 weeks. Kan. Stat. § 23-2505 (2022).
KentuckyNone30 daysAny county clerkKy. Rev. Stat. §§ 402.100, 402.105 (2022)
Louisiana24 hours30 daysAny parish-level court clerkIn Orleans Parish, licenses issued by State Registrar of Vital Records or any city court judge. Waiting period may be waived for good reason. La. Rev. Stat. §§ 9:221, 9:222, 9:235, 9:241, 9:242 (2022)
MaineNone90 daysTown clerk or State Registrar of Vital StatisticsApply at town office where one applicant lives; nonresidents apply at any town office. Md. Rev. Stat. tit. 19-A, §§ 651, 652 (2022)
Maryland2 days6 monthsCircuit court clerkApply in county where wedding will take place, but applicants may apply for nonresident marriage license by mail if neither lives in that county. Md. Code, Fam. Law §§ 2-405, 2-409 (2022)
Massachusetts3 days60 daysAny city or town clerkMarriage license is called "certificate of intention of marriage." Minimum waiting period may be waived in extraordinary or emergency cases. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 207, §§ 27, 30 (2022).
Michigan3 days33 daysCounty clerkApply in county where either applicant lives or, if both are nonresidents, in county where wedding will take place. Waiting period may be waived for good reason. Mich. Comp. Laws §§ 551.101, 551.103a (2022)
MinnesotaNone6 monthsAny county registrar (Vital Records Office)Minn. Stat. §§ 517.07, 517.08 (2022)
MississippiNoneNo provisionAny circuit court clerkMiss. Code § 93-1-15
MissouriNone30 daysRecorder of Deeds in any countyMo. Rev. Stat. § 451.040 (2022)
MontanaNone180 daysAny district court clerkMont. Code §§ 40-1-202, 40-1-212 (2022)
NebraskaNone1 yearAny county clerkNeb. Rev. Stat. § 42-104 (2022)
NevadaNone1 yearAny county clerk (or Marriage License Bureau)Nev. Rev. Stat. § 122.040 (2022)
New HampshireNone90 daysAny town/city clerkN.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 5-C:42, 457:26 (2022)
New Jersey72 hours30 daysLocal Vital Records Office or city clerkApply for license in municipality where either applicant lives or, if nonresidents, where wedding will take place; waiting period may be waived in emergency. N.J. Stat. §§ 37:1-3, 37:1-4 (2022)
New MexicoNoneNo provisionAny county clerkN.M. Stat. § 40-1-10 (2022)
New York24 hours60 daysAny city or town clerkWaiting period may be waived. N.Y. Dom. Rel. Law §§ 13, 13-b, 14 (2022)
North CarolinaNone60 daysAny register of deedsN.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 51-8, 51-16 (2022)
North DakotaNone60 daysCounty recorder or other designated officialApply in county where either applicant lives. N.D. Cent. Code § 14-03-10 (2022)
OhioNone60 daysProbate Court (marriage department)Apply in county where either applicant lives or, if nonresidents, where wedding will take place. Ohio Rev. Code §§ 3101.05, 3101.07 (2022)
OklahomaNone30 daysAny county district court clerk72-hour waiting period for applicants under age 18. Okla. Stat. tit. 43, §§ 4, 5, 6, 20 (2022)
Oregon3 days60 daysAny county court clerkMay get waiver of waiting period for good reason. Or. Rev. Stat. § 106.077 (2022).
Pennsylvania3 days60 daysDepartment of Court Records in most countiesLicenses issued by Orphans Court clerk in Philadelphia and Register of Wills in Pittsburgh. Licenses are good anywhere in state. May get waiver of waiting period in emergencies or extraordinary circumstances, or if applicant is in active military duty. 23 Pa. Cons. Stat. §§ 1303, 1310 (2022)
Rhode IslandNone3 monthsTown or city clerkApply in city/town where either applicant lives; nonresidents apply where ceremony will take place. When state implements system for issuing licenses electronically, you'll be able to apply anywhere in state. R.I. Gen. Laws 15-2-1, 15-2-1.1, 15-2-8 (2022)
South Carolina24 hoursVaries by countyProbate court in any countyApply with court clerk in Darlington and Georgetown counties. S.C. Code § 20-1-220 (2022).
South DakotaNone90 daysAny county register of deedsS.D. Codified Laws §§ 25-1-10, 25-1-24 (2022)
TennesseeNone30 daysAny county clerkTenn. Code § 36-3-103 (2022)
Texas72 hours90 daysAny county clerkExceptions to waiting period include applicants who completed premarital education course, received waiver, or are on active military duty. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 2.001, 2.201, 2.204 (2022)
UtahNone32 daysAny county clerkUtah Code § 30-1-7 (2022)
VermontNone60 daysAny town clerkVt. Stat. tit. 18, § 5131 (2022)
VirginiaNone60 daysAny county or city court clerk or deputy clerkVa. Code §§ 20-14, 20-14.1 (2022)
Washington3 days60 daysAny county auditorWash. Rev. Code §§ 26.04.150, 26.04.180 (2022)
West VirginiaNone60 daysAny clerk of county commission2-day waiting period for applicants under 18, except in extraordinary circumstances. W. Va. Code §§ 48-2-102, 48-2-103, 48-2-202 (2022)
Wisconsin5 days30 daysCounty clerkState residents must apply for license in county where one of them has lived for previous 30 days; out-of-state residents must apply in county where ceremony will take place. Waiting period may be shortened for extra fee. Wis. Stat. §§ 765.05, 765.08, 765.12 (2022)
WyomingNone1 yearAny county clerkWyo. Stat. § 20-1-103 (2022)
showing: 51 rows