map placeholder

< 1.5

> 1.5

> 2

> 2.5

> 3

> 3.5

> 4

> 4.5

> 5

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

MLB Teams by State

Major League Baseball (MLB) is a professional baseball organization with a total of 30 teams in the United States and Canada. Established in 1903, the MLB is the oldest major professional sports league in the US and Canada.

The 30 teams are divided evenly into two leagues: the National League (NL) and the American League (AL). Each league is divided into three divisions, East, Central and West, five teams in each division. 29 teams are in the United States, and 1 is in Canada. Additionally, there are 256 Minor League Baseball teams, each affiliated with Major League clubs.

A regular season for an MLB team is 162 games, and five teams in each league advance to a four-round playoff tournament that leads to a best-of-seven championship called the World Series. The New York Yankees have won the most World Series championships, appearing 40 times and winning 27 titles.

In 2018, the MLB has the highest season attendance of any sports in the world with more that 69.6 million spectators.

California currently has the highest number of MLB teams, with a total of five. Many states do no have an MLB team.

Below is a list of MLB teams by state, including their league and division:


  • Arizona Diamondbacks (NL West)


  • Los Angeles Angels (AL West)
  • Oakland Athletics (AL West)
  • Los Angeles Dodgers (NL West)
  • San Diego Padres (NL West)
  • San Francisco Giants (NL West)


  • Colorado Rockies (NL West)

District of Columbia


  • Tampa Bay Rays (AL East)
  • Miami Marlins (NL East)


  • Atlanta Braves (NL East)


  • Chicago Cubs (NL Central)
  • Chicago White Sox (AL Central)


  • Baltimore Orioles (AL East)


  • Boston Red Sox (AL East)


  • Detroit Tigers (AL Central)


  • Minnesota Twins (AL Central)


  • Kansas City Royals (AL Central)
  • St. Louis Cardinals (NL Central)

New York

  • New York Mets (NL East)
  • New York Yankees (AL East)


  • Cincinnati Reds (NL Central)
  • Cleveland Indians (AL Central)

Ontario, Canada

  • Toronto Blue Jays (AL East)


  • Philadelphia Phillies (NL East)
  • Pittsburgh Pirates (NL Central)


  • Houston Astros (AL West)
  • Texas Rangers (AL West)


  • Seattle Mariners (AL West)


  • Milwaukee Brewers (NL Central)

MLB Teams by State

State Number of Teams Teams 2021 Pop.
California5Los Angeles Angels Oakland Athletics Los Angeles Dodgers San Diego Padres San Francisco Giants39,613,493
Texas2Houston Astros Texas Rangers29,730,311
Pennsylvania2Philadelphia Phillies Pittsburgh Pirates12,804,123
Ohio2Cincinnati Reds Cleveland Indians11,714,618
Missouri2Kansas City Royals St. Louis Cardinals6,169,038
Illinois2Chicago Cubs Chicago White Sox12,569,321
Florida2Tampa Bay Rays Miami Marlins21,944,577
Wisconsin1Milwaukee Brewers5,852,490
Washington1Seattle Mariners7,796,941
Minnesota1Minnesota Twins5,706,398
Michigan1Detroit Tigers9,992,427
Massachusetts1Boston Red Sox6,912,239
Maryland1Baltimore Orioles6,065,436
Georgia1Atlanta Braves10,830,007
Colorado1Colorado Rockies5,893,634

MLB Teams by State