map placeholder

NBA Teams by State

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a North American professional basketball league. It is one of four major professional sports leagues in the U.S. and Canada, along with the National Football League (NFL), Major League Baseball (MLB), and National Hockey League (NHL).

The NBA was founded as the Basketball Association of America (BAA) on June 6, 1946, in New York, New York, and started with 11 teams. The BAA merged with the competing National Basketball League (NBL) on August 3, 1949, and changed its name to the National Basketball League.

Currently, the NBA is the third-wealthiest professional sports league in North America behind the NFL and MLB by revenue. As of 2020, NBA players have the world’s highest average annual salary per player, making them the best-paid athletes.

The NBA’s regular season runs from October to April and each team plays 82 games. The playoff tournament runs into June.

NBA Teams

There are currently 30 NBA teams: 29 in the U.S. and one in Canada. The Canadian team is the Toronto Raptors. The 30 teams are divided into two conferences of three divisions with five teams each.

The Eastern Conference’s three divisions are Atlantic, Central, and Southeast. The Western Conference’s three divisions are Northwest, Pacific, and Southwest.

Of the 30 NBA teams, the Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics have won the most championships, with 17 each. Together, these two teams have accounted for 45.9% of the 74 championships in NBA history.

In the table below are the 30 NBA teams and their city.

NBA Teams by State

State Num NBA Teams NBA Teams
Arizona1Phoenix Suns
California4Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Sacramento Kings
Colorado1Denver Nuggets
Florida2Miami Heat, Orlando Magic
Georgia1Atlanta Hawks
Illinois1Chicago Bulls
Indiana1Indianapolis Pacers
Louisiana1New Orleans Pelicans
Massachusetts1Boston Celtics
Michigan1Detroit Pistons
Minnesota1Minneapolis Timberwolves
New York2New Jersey Nets, New York Knicks
North Carolina1Charlotte Hornets
Ohio1Cleveland Cavaliers
Oklahoma1Oklahoma City Thunder
Oregon1Portland Trailblazers
Pennsylvania1Philadelphia 76ers
Tennessee1Memphis Grizzlies
Texas3Dallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, San Antonio Spurs
Utah1Utah Jazz
Wisconsin1Milwaukee Bucks

NBA Teams by State