map placeholder

< 1.1

> 1.1

> 1.2

> 1.3

> 1.4

> 1.5

> 1.6

> 1.7

> 1.8

> 1.9

> 2

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

NFC Teams by State 2022

How Did The NFC Begin?

The NFC, formally known as the National Football Conference, is one of the two conferences that exist in the NFL, or National Football League. Just like the AFC, there are a total of 16 NFC teams divided into four different divisions. The NFC started out as a part of the larger 1970 merger between the NFL and the AFL. The NFC was formed from thirteen of the original sixteen NFL teams.

What Are The Teams in the NFC?

Since 2002, both the AFC and the NFC have had sixteen teams each separated into four divisions. These divisions are the NFC East, NFC North, NFC South, and the NFC West.

Which Teams Are In the NFC East?

There are four teams in the NFC East. The first team in the NFC East is the Dallas Cowboys and the New York Giants are another team that is in the NFC East, too. The two remaining NFC East teams are the Philadelphia Eagles and the Washington Football Team. The Washington Football Team is the only one out of all the NFC teams that play their home games in Maryland, specifically at FedEx Field in Landover, Maryland.

What Four Teams Are Part of the NFC North?

The four teams that are in the NFC North are the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and the Minnesota Vikings. None of the states with teams in the NFC North have teams in any other NFC division. The Vikings are the only NFC team from Minnesota and the Bears are the only NFC team from Illinois. The Packers are the only NFC team from Wisconsin and the Washington Football Team is the only NFC team from the state of Maryland.

What About the NFC South?

The Atlanta Falcons and the Carolina Panthers are the first two teams that are in the NFC South. The New Orleans Saints and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are the other two teams in the NFC South. It is worth noting that the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are the only Florida team that is in the entire NFC.

Which Teams Form the NFC West?

Two of the teams that are in the NFC West are the Arizona Cardinals and the Los Angeles Rams. The San Francisco 49ers and the Seattle Seahawks are the final two teams in the NFC West. The NFC West is the only NFC division with two teams from the same state since both the Rams and 49ers are California teams.

Which NFC Team Has Won The Conference The Most and Who Are The Current NFC Champions?

The NFC team that has won the most conference championships is the Dallas Cowboys. The Dallas Cowboys have won the NFC conference championship eight times in total. The current NFC champions are the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and they have won a total of two NFC conference championships.

NFC Teams by State 2022

State # of Teams NFC Teams 2022 Pop.
California2Los Angeles Rams San Francisco 49ers39,664,128
Wisconsin1Green Bay Packers5,867,518
Washington1Seattle Seahawks7,887,965
Texas1Dallas Cowboys30,097,526
Pennsylvania1Philadelphia Eagles12,805,190
North Carolina1Carolina Panthers10,807,491
New Jersey1New York Giants8,870,685
Minnesota1Minnesota Vikings5,739,781
Michigan1Detroit Lions9,995,212
Maryland1Washington Football Team6,075,314
Louisiana1New Orleans Saints4,616,106
Illinois1Chicago Bears12,518,071
Georgia1Atlanta Falcons10,936,299
Florida1Tampa Bay Buccaneers22,177,997
Arizona1Arizona Cardinals7,640,796
West Virginia1,755,715
South Dakota902,542
South Carolina5,342,388
Rhode Island1,062,583
North Dakota774,008
New York19,223,191
New Mexico2,109,093
New Hampshire1,378,449

NFC Teams by State 2022