map placeholder

< 1.2

> 1.2

> 1.4

> 1.6

> 1.8

> 2

> 2.2

> 2.4

> 2.6

> 2.8

> 3

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

NFL Teams by State

The National Football League consists of 32 teams, divided between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). The NFL was founded on August 20, 1920, and is headquartered in New York City.

The 32 NFL teams are located in 22 states. Twenty-eight states do not have a football team. Some states have multiple teams, such as California, which has three: the Los Angeles Rams, the Los Angeles Chargers, and the San Francisco 49ers.

The Green Bay Packers have the most NFL Championships with 13 titles (nine before the Super Bowl and four Super Bowl titles). The New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers both have the most Super Bowl titles at six each.

Some football teams have relocated to cities in the coming years, changing their states. The St. Louis Rams returned to Los Angeles in 2016 after 21 years in St. Louis, Missouri, adding a team in California and taking one away from Missouri. The Oakland Raiders relocated to Las Vegas in 2020, giving Nevada their first NFL team and taking one away from California.

Each NFL team’s home is determined by the location that their home stadium resides in. The New York Jets and New York Giants are the exception to this rule since their home games are played in New Jersey, but they are considered New York teams.

NFL Teams by State


  • Arizona Cardinals


  • Los Angeles Rams
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • San Francisco 49ers


  • Denver Broncos


  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Miami Dolphins
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers


  • Atlanta Falcons


  • Chicago Bears


  • Indianapolis Colts


  • New Orleans Saints



  • New England Patriots


  • Detroit Lions


  • Minnesota Vikings



  • Las Vegas Raiders

New York

  • Buffalo Bills
  • New York Giants
  • New York Jets

North Carolina

  • Carolina Panthers


  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns


  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Pittsburgh Steelers


  • Tennessee Titans


  • Dallas Cowboys
  • Houston Texans


  • Seattle Seahawks


  • Green Bay Packers

NFL Teams by State

State # of Teams NFL Teams 2021 Pop.
New York3Buffalo Bills New York Giants New York Jets19,299,981
Florida3Jacksonville Jaguars Miami Dolphins Tampa Bay Buccaneers21,944,577
California3Los Angeles Rams Los Angeles Chargers San Francisco 49ers39,613,493
Texas2Dallas Cowboys Houston Texans29,730,311
Pennsylvania2Philadelphia Eagles Pittsburgh Steelers12,804,123
Ohio2Cincinnati Bengals Cleveland Browns11,714,618
Maryland2Baltimore Ravens Washington Football Team6,065,436
Wisconsin1Green Bay Packers5,852,490
Washington1Seattle Seahawks7,796,941
Tennessee1Tennessee Titans6,944,260
North Carolina1Carolina Panthers10,701,022
Nevada1Las Vegas Raiders3,185,786
Missouri1Kansas City Chiefs6,169,038
Minnesota1Minnesota Vikings5,706,398
Michigan1Detroit Lions9,992,427
Massachusetts1New England Patriots6,912,239
Louisiana1New Orleans Saints4,627,002
Indiana1Indianapolis Colts6,805,663
Illinois1Chicago Bears12,569,321
Colorado1Denver Broncos5,893,634
Arizona1Arizona Cardinals7,520,103

NFL Teams by State