map placeholder


Possible Ban In Progress

No Restriction

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

States That Have Banned Critical Race Theory 2022

States with Bans Against Critical Race Theory

The following states have banned critical race therory: Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Iowa, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. These states represent only the tip of the iceberg, however. These only represent a moving target as there are a myriad of other state jurisdictions looking to end the practice of teaching critical race tenets.

States that currently have bills moving through the state legislature, or are emplacing school policies to forbid the teaching of Critical Race Theory include: Georgia, Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. A quick perusal of this second listing reveals several unexpected geographic concentrations.

While the states comprising the old Confederacy are widely represented in the number of anti-CRT bills and measures being put forth in legislative chambers, a surprising number of states representing a large swath of the Midwest have also given the nod to restricting how race is taught in their state school curriculums.

Opposition to Banning Critical Race Theory

In each of these states looking to eliminate or reduce the level of Critical Race Theory-based instruction, there is a vocal opposition to the move with two states, Arizona and Mississippi, have defeated attempted CRT bans. That being said however, supporters of the failed legislation have vowed to reintroduce those measures in future legislative sessions. Indeed, to date, only Delaware has passed legislation to positively affirm the goals and intentions of teaching about racism, and the deleterious affect that that has had on generations of minorities of Black Americans in the United States.

States That Have Banned Critical Race Theory 2022

State Critical Race Theory Legal Status 2022 Pop.
AlabamaPossible Ban In Progress4,949,697
AlaskaNo Restriction720,763
ArizonaNo Restriction7,640,796
CaliforniaNo Restriction39,664,128
ColoradoNo Restriction5,961,083
ConnecticutNo Restriction3,546,588
DelawareNo Restriction998,619
GeorgiaPossible Ban In Progress10,936,299
HawaiiNo Restriction1,401,709
IllinoisNo Restriction12,518,071
IndianaNo Restriction6,842,385
KansasNo Restriction2,919,179
KentuckyPossible Ban In Progress4,487,233
LouisianaPossible Ban In Progress4,616,106
MaineNo Restriction1,359,677
MarylandNo Restriction6,075,314
MassachusettsNo Restriction6,922,107
MichiganPossible Ban In Progress9,995,212
MinnesotaNo Restriction5,739,781
MississippiNo Restriction2,961,536
MissouriPossible Ban In Progress6,184,843
MontanaPossible Ban In Progress1,093,117
NebraskaNo Restriction1,960,790
NevadaNo Restriction3,238,601
New HampshireBanned1,378,449
New JerseyNo Restriction8,870,685
New MexicoNo Restriction2,109,093
New YorkNo Restriction19,223,191
North CarolinaNo Restriction10,807,491
North DakotaNo Restriction774,008
OhioPossible Ban In Progress11,727,377
OregonNo Restriction4,325,290
PennsylvaniaPossible Ban In Progress12,805,190
Rhode IslandPossible Ban In Progress1,062,583
South CarolinaPossible Ban In Progress5,342,388
South DakotaNo Restriction902,542
TexasPossible Ban In Progress30,097,526
UtahPossible Ban In Progress3,363,182
VermontNo Restriction622,882
VirginiaNo Restriction8,638,218
WashingtonPossible Ban In Progress7,887,965
West VirginiaPossible Ban In Progress1,755,715
WisconsinPossible Ban In Progress5,867,518
WyomingNo Restriction582,233

States That Have Banned Critical Race Theory 2022