Termination Requirements by State 2024

Termination Requirements by State 2024

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

State
Employee Terminated Final Check Delivery
Employee Quit Final Check Delivery
Citation
Citation Link
Separation Letter Details
New HampshireWithin 72 hours. However, if employee is laid off, may be next scheduled paydayNext scheduled payday or within 72 hours (if the employee gave at least one pay period's notice)New Hampshire Revised Statute § 275:44Source
VermontWithin 72 hoursNext scheduled payday, or on the next Friday if there are no scheduled paydaysVermont Statute tit. 21 § 342Source
West VirginiaWithin 72 hoursImmediately if the employee has given at least one pay period's notice. If the employee has not provided such notice, next scheduled paydayWest Virginia Code § 21-5-4Source
South CarolinaWithin 48 hours or on next scheduled payday, but not more than 30 days laterNo law existsSouth Carolina Codified Law § 41-10-50Source
All employers must provide separating employees with a “Notice of the Availability of Unemployment I...
UtahWithin 24 hoursWithin 24 hoursUtah Code § 34-28-5Source
ArizonaWithin 7 working days or on next scheduled payday, whichever occurs firstNext scheduled paydayArizona Revised Statute § 23-353Source
ArkansasWithin 7 daysNext scheduled paydayArkansas Code § 11-4-405Source
TexasWithin 6 daysNext scheduled paydayTexas Code, Labor § 61.014Source
New MexicoWithin 5 daysNext scheduled paydayNew Mexico Statute § 50-4-4 § 50-4-5Source
WyomingWithin 5 business daysWithin 5 business daysWyoming Statute § 27-4-104Source
AlaskaWithin 3 working daysNext scheduled payday that is at least three days after the employee gives noticeAlaska Statute § 23.05.140Source
AlabamaNo law existsNo law exists
All employees who become unemployed must be given a printed statement detailing how they can file fo...
FloridaNo law existsNo law exists
GeorgiaNo law existsNo law exists
Regardless of the reason for separation, employers must complete form DOL-800. This form must be del...
MississippiNo law existsNo law exists
Employers must have an unemployment law poster clearly visible to employees
OhioNo law existsOn the first day of the month for wages that were earned in the first half of the prior month, or on the fifteenth day of the month for wages earned in the second half of the prior monthOhio Revised Code § 4113.15Source
LouisianaNext scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever occurs earlierNext scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever occurs earlierLouisiana Revised Statute § 23:631Source
Employers must file (online only) a separation notice within three days of the date of separation. T...
MaineNext scheduled payday or within two weeks after a demand from the employee, whichever comes firstNext scheduled payday or within two weeks after a demand from the employee, whichever is earlierMaine Revised Statute tit. 26 § 626Source
KentuckyNext scheduled payday or within 14 days, whichever occurs laterNext scheduled payday, or within 14 days, whichever occurs later.Kentucky Revised Statute § 337.055Source
IdahoNext scheduled payday or within 10 days, whichever occurs first. If employee gives a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the requestNext scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first. However, if employee makes a written request for earlier payment, within 48 hours of receiving the requestIdaho Code § 45-606 § 45-617Source
South DakotaNext scheduled payday or when the employee returns the employer's propertyNext scheduled payday or when the employee returns the employer's propertySouth Dakota Codified Law § 60-11-10 § 60-11-14Source
DelawareNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayDelaware Code Annotated title 19, § 1103Source
IndianaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayIndiana Code § 22-2-9-2 § 22-2-5-1Source
IowaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayIowa Code § 91A.4Source
When an employee leaves or refuses employment and the employer believes they are not qualified for u...
KansasNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayKansas Statute § 44-315Source
MarylandNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayMaryland Labor and Employment Code § 3-505Source
Employers must provide separated employees a notice of unemployment availability
MichiganNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayMichigan Compensation Laws § 408.474 § 408.475Source
Form UIA 1711 must be provided at the time of separation unless employers are filing claims on behal...
New JerseyNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayNew Jersey Statute § 34:11-4.3Source
Regardless of the reason for separation, all employees who will be separated from employment for at ...
New YorkNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayNew York Labor Law § 191Source
All employers subject to the state’s unemployment law must inform employees of their right to apply ...
North CarolinaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayNorth Carolina General Statute § 95.25.7Source
OklahomaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayOklahoma State tit. 40 § 165.3Source
PennsylvaniaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayPennsylvania Consolidated Statute § 260.5Source
All employers must notify separating employees of the availability of unemployment compensation. For...
Rhode IslandNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayRhode Island General Law § 28-14-4Source
All employers must provide notice to separating employees of the availability of unemployment compen...
VirginiaNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayVirginia Code § 40.1-29Source
WashingtonNext scheduled paydayNext scheduled paydayWashington Revised Code § 49.48.010Source
ConnecticutNext business dayNext scheduled paydayConnecticut General Statutes § 31-71cSource
All departing employees must be provided with Form UC-61, “Unemployment Separation Packet/Notice.” I...
District of ColumbiaNext business dayNext scheduled payday, or within seven days, whichever comes firstDistrict of Columbia Code § 32-1303Source
OregonNext business dayImmediately, if the employee has given at least 48 hours' notice. If employee does not give notice, final check must be given within five days or Next scheduled payday, whichever occurs firstOregon Revised Statute § 652.140Source
TennesseeLater of next scheduled payday or 21 daysNext scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is laterTennessee Code § 50-2-103Source
Within 1 day of separation, employers must provide departing employees with Form LB-0489, unless the...
MontanaImmediately. The employer has the option of maintaining a written policy that extends this time to earlier of next scheduled payday or 15 daysNext scheduled payday or within 15 days, whichever is earlierMontana Code § 39-3-205Source
HawaiiImmediately, or next business day if there are conditions that prevent immediate paymentNext scheduled payday, unless employee gave at least one pay period's notice, then check must be given immediatelyHawaii Revised Statute § 388-3Source
CaliforniaImmediatelyWithin 72 hours, unless employee has given more than 72 hours' notice, then, check must be given immediatelyCalifornia Labor Code § 201 § 202 § 227.3Source
All employees who are discharged, laid off, take a leave of absence, or have a similar change in the...
MassachusettsImmediatelyNext scheduled payday or, if there is no scheduled payday, on the Saturday that follows an employee's resignationMassachusetts Laws ch. 149 § 148Source
All employees separated from work, whether temporary or permanent, must be provided with Form 0590-A...
MinnesotaImmediatelyNext scheduled payday. However, if the payday is less than five days after the last day that the employee works, the employer must pay on the next payday or 20 days after the employee's last day of work, whichever is earlierMinnesota Statute § 181.13 § 181.14Source
MissouriImmediatelyNo law existsMissouri Revised Statute § 290.110Source
Employers must provide separating employees with Form M-INF-288-5
NevadaImmediatelyNext scheduled payday or within seven days, whichever occurs firstNevada Revised Statute § 608.020Source
Notice DETR-ESD must be provided to all departing employees
ColoradoImmedately if the payroll unit is open when termination occurs, within 6 hours of the start of the next working day if payroll was closed, or within 24 hours if the payroll unit is offsiteNext scheduled paydayColorado Revised Statute § 8-4-109Source
NebraskaEarlier of next scheduled payday or two weeksNext scheduled payday or within two weeks, whichever occurs firstNebraska Revised Statute § 48-1230Source
WisconsinEarlier of next scheduled payday or one month. If the termination is a result of a merger, relocation or liquidation of the business, final check must be given within 24 hoursNext scheduled paydayWisconsin Statute § 109.03Source
North DakotaEarlier of next scheduled payday or 15 daysNext scheduled paydayNoth Dakota Century Code § 34-14-03Source
IllinoisAt the time of separation if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled paydayAt the time of separation if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled paydayIllinois Compiled Statutes 820 ILCS 115/5Source
Employers must provide Form CLI111L to all employees separated from employment for seven or more day...
showing: 51 rows

Termination Requirements by State 2024

Sources