map placeholder

Request photo ID

Request non-photo ID

No ID required

Require non-photo ID

Require non-photo ID

Hover overClick on a tile for details.

Voter ID Laws by State

Voter identification laws in the United States require that a person wishing to vote must provide some form of official identification before being permitted to register to vote, receiving a ballot or to cast their vote in elections.

Supporters of voter ID laws argue that they reduce electoral fraud without placing a big burden on voters. Opponents of voter id laws argue that electoral fraud is extremely rare and that these laws often put up unnecessary barriers for minority groups and those less likely to possess photo IDs.

According to the National Conference of State Legislature, voter ID laws can be categorized in two ways:

  • Whether the state asks for a photo ID or accepts a non-photo ID
  • What actions are available for voters who do not have an ID

Photo ID states require voters to show documentation that has a photo such as a driver’s license, passport, state-issued identification card, military ID, tribal ID, etc. Non-photo ID states accept forms of identification without photos, such as bank statements with a name and address.

If a voter does not have identification, states provide alternatives. These laws are either considered strict or non-strict. Strict laws state that voters without acceptable identification must vote on a provisional ballot and take additional steps after Election Day in order for their vote to be counted. Non-strict laws state that some voters without acceptable identification have the option to cast a ballot will be counted without further action taken by the voter.

Thirty-five states have laws requesting or requiring voters to show some form of identification at the election polls. The remaining 15 states use other methods to verify the identity of voters.

States that require photo ID (strict):

States that request photo ID (non-strict):

States that require non-photo IDs (strict):

States that request non-photo IDs (non-strict):

States that do not require a form of ID at the ballot box:

Voter ID Laws by State

State Voter ID Law
CaliforniaNo ID required
IllinoisNo ID required
MaineNo ID required
MarylandNo ID required
MassachusettsNo ID required
MinnesotaNo ID required
NebraskaNo ID required
NevadaNo ID required
New JerseyNo ID required
New MexicoNo ID required
New YorkNo ID required
OregonNo ID required
PennsylvaniaNo ID required
VermontNo ID required
WyomingNo ID required
AlaskaRequest non-photo ID
ColoradoRequest non-photo ID
ConnecticutRequest non-photo ID
DelawareRequest non-photo ID
IowaRequest non-photo ID
KentuckyRequest non-photo ID
MissouriRequest non-photo ID
MontanaRequest non-photo ID
New HampshireRequest non-photo ID
OklahomaRequest non-photo ID
South CarolinaRequest non-photo ID
UtahRequest non-photo ID
WashingtonRequest non-photo ID
West VirginiaRequest non-photo ID
AlabamaRequest photo ID
ArkansasRequest photo ID
FloridaRequest photo ID
HawaiiRequest photo ID
IdahoRequest photo ID
LouisianaRequest photo ID
MichiganRequest photo ID
Rhode IslandRequest photo ID
South DakotaRequest photo ID
TexasRequest photo ID
ArizonaRequire non-photo ID
North DakotaRequire non-photo ID
OhioRequire non-photo ID
GeorgiaRequire photo ID
IndianaRequire photo ID
KansasRequire photo ID
MississippiRequire photo ID
North CarolinaRequire photo ID
TennesseeRequire photo ID
VirginiaRequire photo ID
WisconsinRequire photo ID

Voter ID Laws by State