What Age To Start Kindergarten By State 2020

Kindergarten is a year of education between home, daycare, or preschool and elementary school whose approach involves playing, singing, practical activities, and social interaction. Kindergarten institutions originated in the 18th century in Bavaria and Alsace to provide a place for kids to go during the day while their parents worked.

German pedagogue Friedrich Fröbel recognized that children have unique needs and capabilities and created the concept of kindergarten. The German word kindergarten can be translated to “infant garden.” Both the concept and the name stuck, especially in the United States.

In the United States, kindergarten is typically part of the K-12 educational system and begins the primary education (elementary education) years of formal education in most jurisdictions. In most state and private schools, children attend kindergarten for one year beginning at age five.

American kindergartens have been around for about 150 years, starting when Elizabeth Palmer Peabody opened the first English language kindergarten in the U.S. The first public-school kindergarten opened in St. Louis in the 1870s and soon there were hundreds around the country.

U.S. states have different laws and requirements for kindergarten. As of 2018, 18 states require kindergarten attendance for children wishing to continue to elementary school.

Below are the kindergarten entrance ages for each state. States that are designated a local education agency (LEA) indicate that a local school board oversees and implements education policies as set forth by the federal government.

  • Alabama – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Alaska – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Arizona – 5 before 9/01
  • Arkansas – 5 on or before 8/01
  • California – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Colorado – 5 on or before 10/01
  • Connecticut – 5 on or before 1/01 (of the current school year)
  • Delaware – 5 on or before 8/31
  • District of Columbia – 5 on or before 9/30
  • Florida – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Georgia – 5 by 9/01
  • Hawaii – 5 on or before 7/31
  • Idaho – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Illinois – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Indiana – 5 on 8/01
  • Iowa – 5 by 9/15
  • Kansas – 5 on or before 8/31
  • Kentucky – 5 by 8/01
  • Louisiana – 5 by 9/30
  • Maine – 5 on or before 10/15
  • Maryland – 5 by 9/01
  • Massachusetts – LEA option
  • Michigan – 5 by 9/01
  • Minnesota – 5 on or before 9/01 (school board may adopt an early admissions policy)
  • Mississippi – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Missouri – 5 on 8/01
  • Montana – 5 on or before 9/10
  • Nebraska – 5 on or before 7/31
  • Nevada – 5 on or before 9/30
  • New Hampshire – N/A
  • New Jersey – LEA option (school districts may admit children aged 4-5, and they must admit children aged 5-6. The cutoff date must be after October 1)
  • New Mexico – 5 before 9/01
  • New York – LEA option (students must be between 4 and 6)
  • North Carolina – 5 on or before 8/31
  • North Dakota – 5 before 8/01
  • Ohio – LEA option (Districts may adopt a resolution establishing August 1 instead of September 30 as the required date by which students must have attained the specified age
  • Oklahoma – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Oregon – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Pennsylvania – LEA option (students must be between 4 and 6. The minimum age for kindergarten is 4 years and 7 months before the first day of the school year)
  • Rhode Island – 5 on or before 9/01
  • South Carolina – 5 on or before 9/01
  • South Dakota – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Tennessee – 5 on or before 8/15
  • Texas – 5 on or before 9/01
  • Utah – 5 before 9/02
  • Vermont – 5 (LEA may require students admitted to kindergarten to attain the age of 5 on or before August 31 and January 1st)
  • Virginia – 5 on or before 9/30
  • Washington – 5 on or before 8/31
  • West Virginia – 5 before 9/01
  • Wisconsin – 5 on or before 9/01 (Kindergarten entrance age is 5 on or before September 1 for 5-year-old kindergarten or age 4 on or before September 1 for 4-year-old kindergarten.)
  • Wyoming – 5 on or before 9/15

What Age To Start Kindergarten By State 2020

Source:
State 2020 Pop.
Alabama4,908,620
Alaska734,002
Arizona7,378,490
Arkansas3,039,000
California39,937,500
Colorado5,845,530
Connecticut3,563,080
Delaware982,895
Washington DC720,687
Florida21,993,000
Georgia10,736,100
Hawaii1,412,690
Idaho1,826,160
Illinois12,659,700
Indiana6,745,350
Iowa3,179,850
Kansas2,910,360
Kentucky4,499,690
Louisiana4,645,180
Maine1,345,790
Maryland6,083,120
Massachusetts6,976,600
Michigan10,045,000
Minnesota5,700,670
Mississippi2,989,260
Missouri6,169,270
Montana1,086,760
Nebraska1,952,570
Nevada3,139,660
New Hampshire1,371,250
New Jersey8,936,570
New Mexico2,096,640
New York19,440,500
North Carolina10,611,900
North Dakota761,723
Ohio11,747,700
Oklahoma3,954,820
Oregon4,301,090
Pennsylvania12,820,900
Rhode Island1,056,160
South Carolina5,210,100
South Dakota903,027
Tennessee6,897,580
Texas29,472,300
Utah3,282,120
Vermont628,061
Virginia8,626,210
Washington7,797,100
West Virginia1,778,070
Wisconsin5,851,750
Wyoming567,025