Countries In Africa 2021

map placeholder

Africa is the second-largest continent by geographic area and the second-most populous continent globally, with an area of approximately 30 million km2 and a population of 1.2 billion people. Africa has 54 countries fully recognized by the United Nations, two independent states with limited or no recognition (Western Sahara and Somaliland), and several territories (usually islands) controlled by non-African countries—for example, the Canary Islands are ruled by Spain. That said, given Africa's complicated political situation, history of colonialism, and ongoing insurrections in many countries, the exact number of officially recognized countries on the continent remains a contentious issue.

Africa's population is the youngest of all the continents, with a median age of 19.7 (in comparison to the global median age of 30.4). Niger has the lowest median age in the world at 15.3 years. Africa is also the poorest continent (excluding Antarctica) by a wide margin.

The northern country of Algeria is Africa's largest sovereign state and also among the most populous, with around 44 million residents. Nigeria is by far the largest country in terms of population, with more than 211 million people as of 2021. Ethiopia follows with almost 118 million, while Egypt, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania, South Africa, and Kenya all have populations ranging from 92 million to 54 million.

Even the smaller countries in Africa have relatively large populations. Rwanda and Burundi are relatively small in area (although both share borders with the much larger Democratic Republic of Congo and Tanzania), yet have 13.2 million and 12.2 million people, respectively. The tiny landlocked country of Lesotho, surrounded by vastly bigger South Africa, has more than 2.1 million. Seychelles—an Indian ocean archipelago made up of 115 islands—is Africa's smallest country, with a total population of about 98,000.

For the full list of all 54 countries in Africa, see the table below.

Countries In Africa 2021

Rank Country 2021 Population Growth Rate Area
57Seychelles98,9080.57%452 km²
56Sao Tome And Principe223,3681.92%964 km²
55Mayotte279,5152.46%374 km²
54Cape Verde561,8981.06%4,033 km²
53Western Sahara611,8752.43%266,000 km²
52Comoros888,4512.17%1,862 km²
51Reunion901,6860.71%2,511 km²
50Djibouti1,002,1871.44%23,200 km²
49Eswatini1,172,3621.05%17,364 km²
48Mauritius1,273,4330.13%2,040 km²
47Equatorial Guinea1,449,8963.34%28,051 km²
46Guinea Bissau2,015,4942.41%36,125 km²
45Lesotho2,159,0790.79%30,355 km²
44Gabon2,278,8252.38%267,668 km²
43Botswana2,397,2411.94%582,000 km²
42Gambia2,486,9452.91%10,689 km²
41Namibia2,587,3441.83%825,615 km²
40Eritrea3,601,4671.55%117,600 km²
39Mauritania4,775,1192.70%1,030,700 km²
38Central African Republic4,919,9811.87%622,984 km²
37Liberia5,180,2032.42%111,369 km²
36Republic Of The Congo5,657,0132.52%342,000 km²
35Libya6,958,5321.27%1,759,540 km²
34Sierra Leone8,141,3432.06%71,740 km²
33Togo8,478,2502.41%56,785 km²
32South Sudan11,381,3781.68%619,745 km²
31Tunisia11,935,7660.99%163,610 km²
30Burundi12,255,4333.07%27,834 km²
29Benin12,451,0402.70%112,622 km²
28Rwanda13,276,5132.50%26,338 km²
27Guinea13,497,2442.77%245,857 km²
26Zimbabwe15,092,1711.54%390,757 km²
25Somalia16,359,5042.93%637,657 km²
24Chad16,914,9852.98%1,284,000 km²
23Senegal17,196,3012.70%196,722 km²
22Zambia18,920,6512.92%752,612 km²
21Malawi19,647,6842.71%118,484 km²
20Mali20,855,7352.99%1,240,192 km²
19Burkina Faso21,497,0962.84%272,967 km²
18Niger25,130,8173.82%1,267,000 km²
17Ivory Coast27,053,6292.56%322,463 km²
16Cameroon27,224,2652.56%475,442 km²
15Madagascar28,427,3282.66%587,041 km²
14Ghana31,732,1292.12%238,533 km²
13Mozambique32,163,0472.90%801,590 km²
12Angola33,933,6103.25%1,246,700 km²
11Morocco37,344,7951.18%446,550 km²
10Algeria44,616,6241.75%2,381,741 km²
9Sudan44,909,3532.42%1,886,068 km²
8Uganda47,123,5313.02%241,550 km²
7Kenya54,985,6982.26%580,367 km²
6South Africa60,041,9941.24%1,221,037 km²
5Tanzania61,498,4372.95%945,087 km²
4Dr Congo92,377,9933.15%2,344,858 km²
3Egypt104,258,3271.88%1,002,450 km²
2Ethiopia117,876,2272.53%1,104,300 km²
1Nigeria211,400,7082.55%923,768 km²

Countries In Africa 2021