map placeholder
Click on a country for details.

Organization of African, Caribbean, and Pacific States 2024

The Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States represents an agreement signed by states that are predominantly located in Africa, the Pacific, and the Caribbean. The agreement was signed in 1975 and has been renewed a number of times. The agreement between the various signatory states represents a commitment of these states to one another to support the development of their economies. This includes both the public and private sector. Many of these states still have economies that are developing, which has contributed to high poverty rates and significant civil strife among its citizens.

Why Are The Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States Still Developing?

There are a number of people who are wondering why the countries in the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States are still developing. For hundreds of years, many of the countries in the agreement were colonized by European powers. They had many of their natural resources stripped from their shores, which contributed to significant economic problems. The Caribbean states were colonized during the renaissance and Africa was colonized during the 18th and 19th centuries. While many countries in North and South America won their independence a long time ago, many of the states in the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States only won their independence recently. As a result, they are still developing.

Is It Safe To Visit the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States?

While many of these states are very poor, some are safe to visit. It is important for people to keep their wits about them when they visit these countries. Otherwise, they could be targeted by burglars. For example, the Caribbean is home to some of the most beautiful places on Earth, but many people who visit the area stay close to the water where there is more security. The same can be said of people who visit countries in the Pacific Ocean. While Africa is a popular place for people who want to go on safaris, many of the countries in this part of the world, such as Kenya and Djibouti, are very dangerous. It is prudent for people who visit this part of the world to travel with a trusted guide.

Does the Rest of the World Support the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States?

Yes, there is a fair bit of support for the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States from the rest of the world. Together, these countries represent a significant portion of seats in the UN and it represents more than 1.5 billion people worldwide. The rest of the world knows that support for this agreement is necessary to protect their own interests, and when these economies begin to develop, it will benefit the rest of the world. Both the United States and the EU provide a lot of funding to the states in this organization every year, providing humanitarian aid of all types.

  • The Organisation of African, Caribbean, and Pacific States (OACPS) was created in 1975. Its original name was the African, Caribbean, and Pacific Group of States (ACP).
  • South Sudan was previously included as part of Sudan's membership.
  • The OACPS is subdivided into seven 'Economic Partnership Agreement' groups (EPAs), each of which negotiates trade with the European Union as a single entity. The table below abbreviates group titles as follows:
  • Caribbean = CARIFORUM Economic Partnership Agreement
  • Central African = Economic Community of Central African States (CEMAC)
  • East African = East African Community (EAC)
  • Eastern and Southern African = Eastern and Southern Africa group (related to Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa [COMESA])
  • Pacific = Pacific Islands Forum group
  • South African = Southern Africa Development Community (SADC)
  • West African = Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) plus Mauritania

Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

AngolaSouth African
Antigua and BarbudaCaribbean
BeninWest African
BotswanaSouth African
Burkina FasoWest African
BurundiEast African
CameroonCentral African
Cape VerdeWest African
Central African RepublicCentral African
ChadCentral African
ComorosEastern and Southern African
Cook IslandsPacific
DjiboutiEastern and Southern African
Dominican RepublicCaribbean
DR CongoCentral African
Equatorial GuineaCentral African
EritreaEastern and Southern African
EswatiniSouth African
EthiopiaEastern and Southern African
GabonCentral African
GambiaWest African
GhanaWest African
GuineaWest African
Guinea BissauWest African
Ivory CoastWest African
KenyaEast African
LesothoSouth African
LiberiaWest African
MadagascarEastern and Southern African
MalawiEastern and Southern African
MaliWest African
Marshall IslandsPacific
MauritaniaWest African
MauritiusEastern and Southern African
MozambiqueSouth African
NamibiaSouth African
NigerWest African
NigeriaWest African
Papua New GuineaPacific
Republic of the CongoCentral African
RwandaEast African
Saint Kitts and NevisCaribbean
Saint LuciaCaribbean
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesCaribbean
Sao Tome and PrincipeCentral African
SenegalWest African
SeychellesEastern and Southern African
Sierra LeoneWest African
Solomon IslandsPacific
SomaliaEastern and Southern African
South AfricaSouth African
South SudanEast African
SudanEastern and Southern African
TanzaniaEast African
Timor LestePacific
TogoWest African
Trinidad and TobagoCaribbean
UgandaEast African
ZambiaEastern and Southern African
ZimbabweEastern and Southern African
showing: 80 rows

How many countries are in ACP?

The Africa-Caribbean-Pacific Group of States, ACP, is a partnership of 79 Caribbean, African and Pacific nations that have entered into an agricultural and trading relationship with the European Union.

Frequently Asked Questions