Concealed Carry States 2020

In the United States, each state has its laws surrounding whether or not it is legal to carry weapons. In some states, open carry is permitted, which means that a firearm can be carried out in the open if the individual meets all requirements of the state. In other states, concealed carry is allowed. This means that a person can carry a legal weapon in their vehicle or on themselves, but it must be hidden from sight.

While most people associated concealed carry with guns, other weapons may also be included in these laws. In the state of Florida, pepper spray canisters that are over 2 ounces can only be carried by a person with a concealed weapons permit.

All 50 states have laws in place that allow citizens to carry concealed weapons. However, some states will not issue permits or make it extremely difficult to acquire a permit. In 2018, over 17 million permits were issued throughout the nation.

Since all 50 states have laws in place, we will break down the permitting policies found throughout the nation.

In some states, concealed carry is in the form of Constitutional Carry. This means that anyone that can legally carry a weapon may do so without a permit. The Constitutional Carry states are:

  • Alaska (residents only)
  • Arizona
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • Vermont (does not issue permits)
  • West Virginia (residents only)
  • Wyoming

Other states have shall-issue laws. This means that a license is required to carry a concealed handgun. However, the permitted carrier does not have to demonstrate “good cause” for carrying the weapon. There are 27 shall-issue states, seven of which are shall-issue to residents only and 20 of which are shall issue to residents and non-residents. These states can be identified on the map above or in the table below.

Other states have may-issue laws. This is when a permit is required, and local authorities help determine whether permits are given. These states are:

  • California (residents only)
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware (residents only)
  • Hawaii
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Rhode Island

In some states, there are no-issue laws. This means that most private citizens are not allowed to carry a concealed handgun. In California, this is the case in 12 counties. In other areas, while these laws are not technically on the books, they are in practice. The states that have these laws in practice are:

  • Hawaii
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York

Concealed Carry States 2020

State Concealed Carry Permit Information 2020 Pop.
AlabamaShall Issue to Residents Only4,908,620
AlaskaConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only734,002
ArizonaConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents7,378,490
ArkansasShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,039,000
CaliforniaMay Issue to Residents Only39,937,500
ColoradoShall Issue to Residents Only5,845,530
ConnecticutMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,563,080
DelawareMay Issue to Residents Only982,895
District of ColumbiaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents720,687
FloridaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents21,993,000
GeorgiaShall Issue to Residents Only10,736,100
HawaiiMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,412,690
IdahoShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,826,160
IllinoisShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents12,659,700
IndianaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents6,745,350
IowaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,179,850
KansasConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents2,910,360
KentuckyShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents4,499,690
LouisianaShall Issue to Residents Only4,645,180
MaineConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,345,790
MarylandMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents6,083,120
MassachusettsMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents6,976,600
MichiganShall Issue to Residents Only10,045,000
MinnesotaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents5,700,670
MississippiConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents2,989,260
MissouriConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents6,169,270
MontanaShall Issue to Residents Only1,086,760
NebraskaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,952,570
NevadaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,139,660
New HampshireConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,371,250
New JerseyMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents8,936,570
New MexicoShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents2,096,640
New YorkMay Issue to Residents and Non-Residents19,440,500
North CarolinaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents10,611,900
North DakotaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents761,723
OhioShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents11,747,700
OklahomaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,954,820
OregonShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents4,301,090
PennsylvaniaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents12,820,900
Rhode IslandShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents1,056,160
South CarolinaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents5,210,100
South DakotaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents903,027
TennesseeShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents6,897,580
TexasShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents29,472,300
UtahShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents3,282,120
VermontConstitutional Carry and Does Not Issue Permits628,061
VirginiaShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents8,626,210
WashingtonShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents7,797,100
West VirginiaConstitutional Carry and Shall Issue to Residents Only1,778,070
WisconsinShall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents5,851,750
WyomingShall Issue to Residents Only567,025