The Second Amendment protects Americans' right to own a firearm. Firearm laws vary by state, including ammunition limits, concealed carry or open carry, and duty to inform. Additionally, states have laws regarding firearm accessories, such as suppressors.
Suppressors are widely debated throughout the country. Since they are designed to muffle the sound of gunfire and reduce the flash of a gun, it is crucial for laws to be set regarding their purchase and use.
Citizens who own suppressors are required to keep them for legal and legitimate purposes. If it is determined that the suppressors were used for illegal or illegitimate purposes, the owner will face the consequences in a court of law. The leading group of people that use suppressors is hunters, and in the states where suppressors are legal, they are almost always legal and are allowed for hunting purposes. However, two states, Connecticut and Vermont, will not allow suppressors to be used while hunting.
Throughout the country, there are various laws that all states apply regarding suppressors. These laws provide an overview of what the requirements are to purchase and own the tool. These laws are intended to further increase the safety of citizens. The general laws regarding purchasing a suppressor are that the purchaser must be 21 years of age or older to purchase from a dealer and they must be a citizen of the United States. Purchasers also must be legally able to purchase a firearm, pass a background check, pay a one-time Transfer Tax of $200, and live in a state where suppressors are legal.
There are some laws, however, that are subject to change on a state-by-state basis. Those laws include the requirement that a person must be at least 18 years old to purchase a suppressor from another individual, and a person must be at least 18 years old to own a suppressor if they are a beneficiary of a trust or a member of an organization.
The only way that a person can purchase and own a suppressor is to live in a state that allows this purchase. Otherwise, it is entirely illegal. It is illegal to even transport the tool to an area that does not allow its purchase. Currently, 42 states allow the sale and private ownership of suppressors for personal purposes. The eight states in which it is illegal to purchase and use suppressors are California, Hawaii, Illinois, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Delaware. It is also illegal to own a suppressor in the District of Columbia.
Suppressor Legal Status
|District of Columbia||Illegal|