French Speaking Countries 2023 | Francophone Countries

map placeholder
Hover overClick on a tile for details.

French is a spoken and written language that originated in what is now the country of France and is currently the fifth-most-spoken language in the world behind English, Mandarin Chinese, Hindu, and Spanish. French is one of six working languages of the United Nations (along with Arabic, Chinese, English, Russian, and Spanish), one of three procedural languages of the European Union (along English and German), and the sole language used during deliberations in the EU's Court of Justice of the European Union.

Which countries speak French?

French is an official language in 29 countries, and is the sole official language in 13 of the 29. In the remaining 16 countries, French shares official status with one or more other languages, which may include German, Dutch, English, Arabic, Spanish, Italian, Swahili, Creole, or additional local languages.

Countries in Which French is the Sole Official Language:

Benin Gabon Mali Republic of the Congo
Burkina Faso Guinea Monaco Senegal
DR Congo Ivory Coast Niger Togo

Countries in Which French is a Co-Official Language:

Belgium Central African Republic Equatorial Guinea Rwanda
Burundi Chad Haiti Seychelles
Cameroon Comoros Luxembourg Switzerland
Canada Djibouti Madagascar Vanuatu

Ironically, the most populous country in which French is an official language is not France, but the Democratic Republic of the Congo in Africa, followed by France and Canada. French is also the official language of several (mostly French) dependent territories, the most populous of which is French Polynesia (population 267,000). Finally, French is recognized as a cultural language in the US states Maine and Louisiana, where it may be used for education, commerce, and government services.

Non-Country Territories in Which French is an Official Language:

French Guiana Mayotte Saint Barthelemy
French Polynesia New Brunswick* Saint Martin
Guadeloupe New Caledonia Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Jersey* Reunion Wallis and Futuna

Note: Regions marked with * are administered by Canada (New Brunswick) or the UK (Jersey) and utilize French as a Co-Official language. All other regions are administered by France and use French as the sole official language.

Linguistically, French is an Indo-European Romance language with roots tracing back to the Vulgar Latin of the Roman Empire. French speaking people and countries are often referred to as Francophones in both French and English. According to the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), the Earth is home to approximately 321 million Francophones. Similar estimates indicate that French is used by at least 76 million native speakers as well as 235 million fluent daily speakers and another 77-110 users for whom French is a secondary language.

Additional Countries in Which French is Spoken by At Least 10% of the Population:

Country/Territory Francophones Country/Territory Francophones
Algeria 32.86% Mauritania 13.38%
Andorra 70.13% Mauritius 13.38%
Austria 12.86% Morocco 35.63%
Cape Verde 10.74% Netherlands 19.21%
Gambia 20.02% Portugal 25.12%
Germany 14.66% Romania 11.99%
Guinea-Bissau 15.37% Sao Tome and Principe 20.18%
Ireland 12.67% Spain 11.71%
Italy 19.58% Tunisia 52.47%
Lebanon 38.00% United Kingdom 16.47%
Malta 13.06%

French Speaking Countries 2023 | Francophone Countries


Download Table Data

Enter your email below, and you'll receive this table's data in your inbox momentarily.

French Speaking Countries 2023 | Francophone Countries