Map Options

map placeholder


Click on a country for details.

G90 Countries / Countries in the Group of 90 2024

When people talk about the G90 Countries, they are usually referring to the smallest, poorest, and least developed countries in the world. There are still lots of countries that do not have nearly the same infrastructure or development as some of the larger countries in the world. The G90 Countries were announced in 2003 at the WTO (World Trade Organization) conference, which was taking place in Cancun. The organization seeks to advocate for many of the small countries that are traditionally overlooked by the great powers. Most of these countries are located in South America, Africa, the Caribbean, and in the oceanic region of the Pacific Ocean.

What Are the G90 Countries?

Because there are 90 countries, it is difficult to list them all, but many of the countries included in this agreement include Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Kenya, and Lesotho. There are other countries in this agreement, with many of these countries being located in Africa, South America, the Caribbean, and the Pacific Ocean.

What Is the Goal of the G90 Countries?

The goal of this agreement is to make sure that these countries are not overlooked. In this agreement, the countries agreed to work together to advance the collective lives of their citizens. In many trade agreements that these countries must enter into, they do not have a lot of bargaining power. They also have a very difficult time competing with the subsidized economies of wealthier nations, such as the United States and Japan. These countries are interested in preferential subsidies, particularly when they negotiate with the United States, the Soviet Union, China, and Japan. These countries are also interested in gaining greater access to foreign markets. The idea is that if these countries are able to work together, they may have an easier time extracting favorable terms when they go to the negotiating table. In particular, these countries are interested in agricultural goods, as many of these countries have a difficult time getting enough for their citizens to eat.

Should You Visit the G90 Countries?

In general, it is a good idea for people to visit these countries, as it provides them with a source of tourism income they can use to improve the lives of their citizens. At the same time, safety is a significant concern and many of these countries. Some of these countries are perfectly safe to visit, as long as you think carefully about where you go. For example, Fiji, Morocco, and South Africa are members of this agreement, and many of them have beautiful places to explore. On the other hand, some of these countries have significant safety concerns, such as Kenya, Chad, and the Republic of the Congo. Everyone should take a look at recommendations from the state department before deciding if they should travel to these countries.

  • Data accurate as of August 2023.
  • Every member of the G90 but one (Maldives) also belongs to at least one of three groups that allied to form the G90: the African Union; the UN's Least Developed Countries; or the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS), formerly known as the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group (ACP).

Which countries are part of the G-90?

The G-90 is a group of 90 countries formed to advocate on behalf of countries that have the least development and infrastructure. These countries include Botswana, Cuba, Fiji, and Kenya.

Frequently Asked Questions